blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

The Nothing Day

with 6 comments

images4.jpgNot much to say, really. Didn’t do much of anything. Having internet speed issues today. Slept a lot. That’s about it.

Oh, I did get six résumés out last night/early morning. We’ll see if anything comes of that.

Aah, and Scout left another possum gift by the deck today. It was a bit smaller than the last one. I’m just so glad they’re dead. I don’t know what I’d do with an injured possum. I wouldn’t want to take it to the vet (and apparently, they’re terribly nasty-tempered beasts when cornered/injured), and I wouldn’t want to have to kill it either. I don’t even know how I would kill it. I’m pretty sure shooting it with a shotgun is a literal case of overkill, and probably illegal as well.

Hmmm, good question… what should I do with an injured possum? Save it? Kill it? If so, how?

Written by blogicalinks

September 14, 2007 at 12:32 am

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, discharging a firearm within city limits is a crime – I think a misdemeanor.

    My suggestion would be to contain the animal in some manner (safely), such as covering it with an empty garbage can or something like that. Then call Animal Control. They should be able to take care of it. Granted, they will probably euthanize it, but at least it will be dealt with (without firing off that 12-guage).

    Eric Kaplan

    September 14, 2007 at 9:02 am

  2. I, too, would call animal control, though i don’t know that animal control (city funded) would do this. You might have to contact a “critter control” private company which would charge a fee. We had to use a critter control company to get rid of bats in our attic and i know they got rid of everything besides your domestic types. (A goose who wouldn’t leave a carport, bats, squirrels, you name it)

    Sadly, though, i have a story of a cornered and then killed opossum…one day while i was at school, my grandma opened a kitchen drawer that contained kitchen towels only to find, much to her surprise and near heart attack, a small opossum curled up in the towels! All i know is that she called the guy next door and he put on some heavy duty work gloves, scooped the thing up somehow and took it out of the house to be killed. As far as i know, he gave it a good whack with a shovel. Not positive on that one though because my grandma told him she didn’t want to know the details, she just wanted it gone.

    I don’t think shovels are a crime within city limits, so that could be your solution if animal control can’t help.

    wenzday

    September 14, 2007 at 9:27 am

  3. Blech. I was thinking a shovel would work too. It seems so disgusting, even on a nasty possum. But it saves you having to wait on animal control. Blech, blech, blech. I need to quit thinking about dead possums.

    Carmen

    September 14, 2007 at 9:49 am

  4. Ax

    Simba

    September 14, 2007 at 9:09 pm

  5. e

    Simba

    September 14, 2007 at 9:09 pm

  6. I’m pretty sure that as long as the animal is outside that animal control will take care of it. I do know that, in Gwinnett County, animal control will remove dead animals from public property, and they also provide humane traps for trapping nuisance animals on private property, which I believe they will then pick up for you. It would be worth a call anyway?

    Eric

    September 15, 2007 at 7:52 am


Leave a Reply

