blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Awesome! Freakin’ Awesome!!!

with 11 comments

claresphere.jpgI’m not even bothering to reduce this photo to a thumbnail. THIS, THIS, THIS is the kind of photography I want to be able to do. I’ve read some about the technique (HDR—High Dynamic Range), and a friend of mine, Wenzday, had asked me about it a while back. I looked into it, but never got back to it. Then I was shown this guy’s site. Not only is he a great photographer compositionally, but he also has tutorials on his site on how to accomplish this look. Wow!!

I need to get my desktop back up and running to really take advantage of the power of PhotoShop needed to implement this technique properly, and I will. Wow! Just WOW!!

(Make sure to check out the link above and take a look at other photos.)

Written by blogicalinks

September 12, 2007 at 1:28 am

Posted in Sharing

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I saw this done live during a photo seminar I took last month. It makes me want to get Photoshop even more! Alas, until the coffers fill back up a little, I need to wait.

    Eric

    September 12, 2007 at 5:36 am

  2. WOW. I can’t think of another word to say about that. 🙂

    Simba

    September 12, 2007 at 8:54 am

  3. I told ya it was cool 😉 This is a really beautiful picture, though. It seems there’s lots of different looks you can get with the HDR stuff. Seems like you could use this to get the type of photos you really want to hang in your house as art though. I’m certainly not slick enough to do this type of thing, (i’m still trying to nail exposure and focus at this point), but i’m thinking with your photoshop expertise, you’d be able to do it no problem. Be sure to share any images you come up with if you start playing around with this!

    wenzday

    September 12, 2007 at 9:20 am

  4. Can I do this with my cell phone?

    Ru's Mom

    September 12, 2007 at 11:50 am

  5. I sent you an example of my expertise with cell phone camera photography 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    September 12, 2007 at 3:04 pm

  6. Wow. Maybe by the time you get good at this technique I’ll can have enough money saved to buy a print from you…..

    Stephanie

    September 12, 2007 at 5:04 pm

  7. Oh I love HDR photography! That’s a great photo! I love how it brings out all the textures and colors that you would normally see with your naked eye. It’s amazing!

    This was my first attempt at it. I started simple. It was my first but hopefully not my last.
    Blue Sky Above House

    This is a really cool HDR that Luis found earlier this year:
    http://luiscab.blogspot.com/search?q=hdr

    Carmen

    September 12, 2007 at 10:30 pm

  8. Cool. How did you do that? I thought it was just really blue and crisp at your house that day! 🙂

    Simba

    September 13, 2007 at 11:56 am

  9. It *was* really crisp and blue that day, but the camera doesn’t capture the same way as your eye.

    If I pointed the camera at the sky, the sky was perfect but the house was too dark and if I pointed the camera at the house, the sky was washed out. So I thought “hrm, maybe a little bit of merging in PS is necessary.” So I tried to frame the photos exactly the same way. It’s hard doing it by hand. Luckily, I love playing with PS, so when I brought the images to the computer, I didn’t mind taking the time to make sure they merged perfectly. Of course now with CS3, there is the Auto-Align and Auto-Blend that can do that for you. So I’ve got to try it the CS3 way now!

    Until Luis’ post, I didn’t know there was a word for it. And I also didn’t realize how far some professionals take HDR. There are several HDR groups in flickr, some for beginners even! http://flickr.com/search/groups/?q=hdr

    Carmen

    September 13, 2007 at 9:09 pm


Leave a Reply

