blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Makes Me Feel a Little Better

with 7 comments

I’m still chewing on the implications of my decision to quit my job. A big part of my musings is “Was I just being too sensitive/impatient with what was going at work?”

When I told my supervisor that I was quitting, she said “Can I come with you?” and then she laughed, so I wasn’t sure if she was just expressing a desire to quit working or to quit P****** (I know I’ve mentioned my former employer’s name before, but I’d rather not keep writing it so that it won’t get googled back to this blog.) But later in the conversation, she expressed a real desire to leave, but since she’s the breadwinner for a family that includes an invalid husband, she’s stuck for now. Her attitude made me think, “Okay, it’s not just me who wants to leave.”

Today, I received an email from a co-worker in Pasadena (not the other designer). She wrote to say goodbye and that she was sorry for me to be leaving. I wrote back an email thanking her for her well wishes. I included this in my email:

I was just so unhappy at P******. The stretches of “no work” (but being worried about overhead) combined with such intense periods of a lot of work was not only a bad fit for the way I work, but was also keeping me from producing my best work. The stress and the drop in quality was really making me unhappy. There were other issues, but those were big problems for me.

She wrote back with this:

Everything you’ve said below, I’ve said to both myself and Sr. Management. It is too much, there has been a drop in quality versus what I’m used to (but still an improvement on what P****** was once putting out), and I am injured and exhausted and not at all happy.
🙂 All I can say is that you obviously love yourself much more than I love myself, because I should have parted ways with P****** a long time ago.

While it’s sad to me that she is that unhappy, at least it confirms my perception that many people there are unhappy, at least in our department. If management doesn’t do something, I think they’ll see an increase in people jumping ship. Of course, I could be projecting.

So now, I can check off the list one less thing to fret over. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

September 11, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Posted in Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good.
    Good for you!

    Ru's Mom

    September 11, 2007 at 11:12 pm

  2. You absolutely made the right decision, and these encounters you are having should only serve to reinforce your decision to leave. Do not fret!

    BTW, you need to go back and edit your entry – in your included e-mail text you left in the “P” word….

    Eric

    September 11, 2007 at 11:23 pm

  3. Yeah, no more fretting. You did the right thing. That was a nasty work environment. You gave it your all and then some and you have nothing to regret. Their loss. I hope they learn from it.

    Simba

    September 12, 2007 at 12:07 am

  4. Like D said, you gave it the best effort possible. You hung in there as best as you could, but ultimately, you had to remove yourself from that bad work environment.

    I was one of many that walked out of my first job. I saw many do it before me and many others followed me. (One guy even called me about a month later and asked me about his benefits and vacation payouts. Then quit and left about an hour later.) You hope that the company learns, but from my experiences, they usually don’t. Just learn your own lessons and tell your friends not to work there. 🙂

    Carmen

    September 12, 2007 at 10:50 am

  5. I saw this image as one of the free images on iStockPhoto and it made me think of your tough decision this week. 🙂

    http://www.istockphoto.com/file_closeup.php?id=3008151

    Carmen

    September 13, 2007 at 9:28 pm


Leave a Reply

