blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

First Gift

with 7 comments

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that Scout is a killer of things little and furry. It’s in his Rhodesian Ridgeback nature. So I don’t know why I was so surprised when Monday morning, I go outside to feed him and Maggie, and laying at the base of the deck steps is a big, ugly possum! His first gift to me. I just wonder how he knew exactly what I’d been wishing for?!

I feel really badly that he kills things, but what can I do? I’ve got him in a six-foot privacy fence, and whatever he gets to is because it came into his space! It crossed my mind to take a picture of it to share here, but I thought that would be too gross and macabre…even for me. 🙂

So I picked it up between two sticks (and it was HEAVY), and carried it over to the back fence. I couldn’t hoist it high enough with the stick method, so I found a large leaf and used it to avoid touching the tail as I picked it up and threw it over the fence. I’m sure as the temperatures climb over the next day or two, I might regret not putting it in a plastic bag and in the garbage. Phew!!

Written by blogicalinks

September 11, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eeeeeeew! Dogs will be dogs I guess.

    Possums and I don’t get along anymore since the incident of 1996. 😡 I almost wrecked very badly because of one of those nasty critters.

    Carmen

    September 11, 2007 at 9:49 pm

  2. I came home a few months ago to find a huge dead possum in the side yard. It was already getting nasty, so I ended up using a shovel to load it in a garbage bag and toss it in the trash. Even at that, it stunk up the place mightily!

    My friend Beth (Cigars on the Porch) has written several blog entries about her cats finding mice in the house, playing with them until they’re dead, then bringing them to her. I thought about those stories when I read yours.

    Hope the doors and windows will be closed when game time rolls around on Saturday! Hahahahaha!

    Eric

    September 11, 2007 at 11:20 pm

  3. Well, I confirmed that the fragments I found earlier really are from armadillo. Neighbor Dog brought up more evidence – as well as an animal skin that I bypassed so I didn’t have to identify it. 🙂

    Our dogs and their treasures!

    Ru's Mom

    September 11, 2007 at 11:50 pm

  4. You know I still have that vision of you slinging the possum around by the tail and flinging it over the fence.

    That sure was nice of Scout to give you such a grand gift. I’m sure he worked hard to find just the right thing for you. He must really like his new home and he must have missed his mama terribly. What a sweet boy you have.

    Simba

    September 12, 2007 at 12:04 am

  5. Ah, the first kill at a new home. My sweet dog also likes to kill things….like raccoons….talk about heavy!! My dog doesn’t kill possum’s though that I’ve seen. She simply plays with them. Then they play dead. She watches and pounces when they start to move again. Then the play dead and she waits till the next movement. I watched this out the window one day. pounce, wait, pounce, wait, sniff, pounce wait. It took over an hour –no I didn’t watch EVERY second–for the poor possum to make a break for it, but it finally did. Talk about patience.

    even if you put a “present” in a plastic bag in the trash, make sure the trash will be picked up soooooonnnnn, not after several days of high temperature. That’s all i’ll say about that.

    Stephanie

    September 12, 2007 at 5:00 pm

  6. I second that, Stephanie! It was a day or two before my trash was picked up. Yuck!!!! And I double-bagged it and tied each bag tight.

    Eric Kaplan

    September 13, 2007 at 9:13 am


Leave a Reply

