blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Sunday Question–Where the Heck are the Parents?

with 6 comments

Friday night, I stayed up pretty late. It was around 2:00am before I even went to the bedroom, then about 2:15 by the time I got in bed. I’d only been trying to fall asleep for a few moments, when I heard laughter out in front of the house. I looked out my window, and there were four kids (probably around 16 or 17 years old), two boys and two girls, walking slowly down my street (a dead end), and talking and laughing loudly.

Each of them had cell phone cameras, and were taking pictures in the dark…of what, I have no idea. The “leader” kept pointing to my house, but I couldn’t hear what he was saying. Mainly because of that pointing, I decided to keep watching them, hoping to stop any potential vandalism or shenanigans that might be about to transpire.

(I say one of them was the “leader” because when he walked, they all walked, when he stopped, the all stopped. When he sat down, they all sat down. I’m wondering if he had been drinking because he sat down and put his head down across his arms and his arms on his knees, and stayed that way for quite a while. I won’t go into all I saw, but it included one girl laying down in a fetal position right in the middle of the road, right in front of my house. Granted, it was late and not a much-travelled road, but still!!)

For the longest time, they sat on the opposite side of the road, facing me, right in front of my house. Anyway, they ended up moving up into my neighbor’s yard, still talking loudly, and at about 2:50, I’d had enough. It wasn’t that the talk would necessarily keep me awake, I just didn’t want them around, not knowing what they might decide to do next.

So I got my pepper spray (but didn’t show it), walked out into the street and told them that they needed to go home, and that they’re trespassing on the neighbor’s property. Two of them quietly said, “Yes, ma’am.” As they left, I told them to be careful, and one of them said, “Okay.” I had half expected sass, and they may have cursed me under their breath, but they actually seemed like okay kids in their response.

So I’m wondering…what kind of parent’s let their kids wander the streets at 3:00am?! I can’t believe they knew where they were and were okay with it?!?!

My question: Is this normal for parents to let their kids be out? Were my parents just very strict by giving me a 12:00 curfew when I was 17? If you had/have kids would you/do you let them stay out without knowing where they are?

Written by blogicalinks

September 9, 2007 at 10:40 pm

Posted in Sunday Question

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I had kids, they would have a curfew and I’d know where there were at all times. And they would not be drinking at 17!

    I had a kid for one year and you’d better believe she was not out by herself after dark. She knew exactly what the rules were and she followed them.

    I could go on and on and on about what I think of kids these days and the parents that are raising them like this, but I have to work today so I won’t. And like we were saying the other night, most of them need to walk out back and pick a good switch and get some lessons taught to them.

    Simba

    September 10, 2007 at 9:20 am

  2. I never had a curfew, ever. I suppose there was just always an understanding that as long as my mom knew where i was and who i was with, everything was fine (though she knew my friends were all good kids too, but they didn’t have curfews either). Of course, i never did anything bad or out of line, so my mom completely trusted me and i never took advantage of it because i have too terrible of a conscience. All that to say, i was out plenty of times way past midnight, but always using my powers for good, never evil 😉

    One story that comes to mind is this…at the age of 15 probably (none of my friends were driving yet) my three best friends and i had a sleepover where we ended up going out at like 2 or 3am to the grocery store for coca-cola and doritos..we had run out. We walked probably around 2 miles or thereabouts to get to the store, the streets were deserted and there we were walking along the main road to get to Kroger. Along comes a cop out on patrol, pulls over and asks what we’re doing…my best friend says: “We’re going to get some Coke,” and he says, “Cocaine?” HA! As if. And my friend says, “uh, no, i only have 3 dollars” 😉 He let us keep going, though we did dash behind some bushes when we saw him again later on our way back so he didn’t bother us anymore. I’d like to know why he didn’t just give us a ride the rest of the way down to Kroger though if he was so dang concerned. Perhaps he had a hot date with a doughnut at Dunkin-Donuts down the street?

    All that to say, my kids will not have that kind of freedom unless i was somehow convinced that they were as good as i was as a kid. Though at this point i think i’d be too afraid that other parents would think i was a complete failure as a parent if i didn’t give my kids a curfew like they had given their kids or something. Plus, i’d be a nervous dang wreck if my kids were out that late probably. I would like to get some sleep once these two turn 16 😉

    wenzday

    September 10, 2007 at 12:16 pm

  3. No. No. Hell no.

    I could go on and on too about the lack of parenting going on these days. As tough and resilient that kids are, they still need structure and guidance… from their parents!

    Carmen

    September 10, 2007 at 12:16 pm

  4. I had a curfew, but I still had to let my folks know where I was going and who I was going with. I’m guessing the parents of 3 of the kids thought their kids were at a sleepover at the 4th kid’s house, and I bet his/her parents were out of town or something. For better or worse, being an adviser for the youth group at my church, I’ve heard most of these tricks (or I see them laid out on the various Facebook pages of the youth who’ve added me as a friend).

    The alcohol part scares me the most. Yes, I drank when I was 16/17 or so. I was certain to NEVER drink and drive, and we were fortunate to have a friend with a horse ranch with a big party pavilion so we could hang out without EVER disturbing anyone else (or risk having the police called). That doesn’t make it right. And thinking about how much alcohol I consumed before I was 25 makes me believe I would not do it the same if I had to do it over again.

    I’m actually surprised that the kids left without further incident. Perhaps they weren’t trouble makers and were just “stretching the bounds”. Still isn’t right. At a minimum, if it was a sleepover the parents should have confirmed that an adult would be there. That’s what my folks did!

    Eric

    September 10, 2007 at 9:09 pm

  5. I read my cousin’s daughter’s blog this week. There were pictures of the three girlfriends stopping by and waking up their sleeping best male friend and the caption said “Where else do you go at 3 am without a curfew?” My thought was “home” – but I think they wanted to stay out because they COULD stay out. My cousin is far more lenient that I would be – in all sorts of ways. But, my young cousin seems to be turning out to be a nice young lady.

    Who the heck knows? There are no guarantees. I was a “perfect” kid and look how I turned out! :-D….

    Ru's Mom

    September 10, 2007 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

