blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Whadya Think?

with 4 comments

images1.jpgI’ve been toying with (even gently caressing at times) the idea of starting a movie club. It would operate much like a book club, but with a few distinguishing features:

• No preparation would be necessary beforehand. I love books and reading as much as the next person, but of all things that get pushed to the bottom of my “to do” list, reading is usually one of them.

Well, that’s pretty much the only distinguishing feature. And that kind of bums me out, ’cause I was looking forward to using several bullets. I mean, they’re free, they draw attention, they make things orderly, and I like that. Hey, wait a minute…
• They’re free;
• They draw attention; and
• They make things orderly.

But I digress.

Anyway, who would be up for, say, once a month, getting together on a weekend at rotating locations? And in order for it not to be something people feel like they can’t host, we could say that everyone brings their own snack and drink, and the host only has to provide popcorn.

Cleaning the house beforehand is discouraged. We want to “keep it real.” I think too many people think that their house is a mess and no one wants to visit or they’re too embarassed to invite people over. Granted, there are different levels of cleanliness, but I know for myself, I hardly ever remember what someone’s house was like–good or bad–but I always remember if I had a good time or not. So let’s not let “what the house looks like” be a determining factor in hosting.

Here are some “rules” I’m thinking of to keep it consistent.
(More bullets 🙂
• No more than 2.5 hours running time, just for time-management’s sake.
• It cannot be a movie the host has not seen. Why? See next bullet
• Content and theme would need to be mentioned to members ahead of time so that no one would be made to feel unexpectedly uncomfortable.
• The host gives a BRIEF explanation of why they are choosing/showing their movie. Since most people need time to digest a movie, members could discuss what they thought about it at the next meeting, prior to the showing of the new one. And on and on.
• NO TALKING during movies!! Socializing will be before and after.

That’s all I can think of right now. If we have it at my house, I’ll only charge $3.00 for candy and $2.50 for a drink…much better deals than you’d get at a theater. Oh, and I’d make sure to have toilet paper in the bathrooms! 🙂

Any of you interested in such a venture?

Written by blogicalinks

September 7, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why not movies at a theatre and then talking about it afterwards at a restaurant?

    I can’t host – because I am geographically undesirable.
    No one is going to drive to the mountains for “movie night” and no one is coming to the farmhouse for movie night until more progress has been made. So, my hosting opportunities are limited. Well, okay, my hosting opportunities are virtually nil.

    Ru's Mom

    September 8, 2007 at 6:00 am

  2. • Sounds like fun.
    • Because movies at a theatre are too expensive.
    • I’ll host. Big TV upstairs.

    Does it need to be a deep movie worth discussing or could it be Shrek or something just for fun?

    I don’t think we should make the host only show something they have already seen. Everybody else can read the description online before coming over. I don’t think we are that sensitive a crowd.

    Dianne

    September 8, 2007 at 3:36 pm

  3. Some of my bullets may be repetitive to others’ but just making sure my thoughts are covered.
    • Sounds like fun
    • Movies are too expensive at the theatre
    • I have a decent sized TV for my turn (except not a lot of sitting room unless they don’t mind sitting on floor with the B’s)
    • Agree with “no talking during movie” rule
    • Hosts can charge an even number like $5-10 depending on amount of food/drink provided

    Carmen

    September 8, 2007 at 4:26 pm

  4. The only bullets I can muster are .22 and .45…

    I agree that the movie should not have to be something the host has already seen. I have a small list of movies that I want to see and would want to show for a movie night. I think we all know each other at least well enough to know what may or may not offend. Cheryl, you unfortunately missed out a whole e-mail conversation about minds in the gutter (it started as a Facebook e-mail about the Zoo trip and quickly digressed).

    I have couch seating for 5, chairs for 4-6, and floor space. Itchy and Scratchy will sequester themselves under my bed upstairs. The only catch for me is the only working bathroom in my house is upstairs (long story), but I’ll have TP in there!

    I guess I’m saying I vote “yes”.

    Eric

    September 8, 2007 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

