blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Poor Scout

with 8 comments

750px-rhodesian_ridgeback_glowa_rzut_z_przodu.jpgI talked to my folks tonight, and the first thing that Mama told me was that Scout had been bitten yesterday by a snake. Daddy thinks it was probably a rattlesnake. First of all, they’re pretty common around their house, and second, the way his face swelled up reminded Daddy of the way another dog of his looked when it had, for sure, been bitten by a rattler.

I won’t go into the whole story…it involves a bite on the muzzle, difficulty getting in touch with a vet, raw eggs, antibiotics stuffed in vienna sausages, and lots of lovin’. Apparently, he’s doing much better today and mostly back to normal. I told my folks…wouldn’t that have been something, for me to be two days from getting him back, and then have him die from a snake bite?!?! Oy.

Anyway, I’ll be glad to have them (Scout and Maggie, the beagle) back with me. I’m going to write an email to my neighbors to ask for their patience in case Scout and Maggie bark for a few nights in their new surroundings. I still haven’t quite figured out yet where everyone will get bedded down at night.

BTW, this is not a picture of Scout. I don’t have one of him to upload. This is a picture of a Rhodesian Ridgeback, of which Scout has a lot in him, and this could be a picture of him…although I think Scout’s eyes are prettier. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

September 6, 2007 at 10:49 pm

Posted in Sharing

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Poor baby. I bet he will be glad to get out of that snakepit. 🙂

    I KNOW the pups will be glad to be back with you. My two certainly were. Life is so much better surrounded by one’s pups.

    Ru's Mom

    September 6, 2007 at 11:31 pm

  2. And kudos to you for being the kind of neighbor who warns the neighbors when something might be going on with a pet! I wish my neighbors did stuff like that. Of course, I wish I knew my neighbors (the ones who HAVEN’T been hauled off by the S.W.A.T. team, anyway).

    Eric Kaplan

    September 7, 2007 at 8:06 am

  3. I’m so glad that Scout is ok after such a scare!

    Carmen

    September 7, 2007 at 9:17 pm

  4. Welcome home, Scout and Maggie!

    We know how great it feels to be back home with Momma.
    Wags,
    Ellie and Maddie

    Ru's Mom

    September 7, 2007 at 9:46 pm

  5. LOL!!!!!! Funny comment from the dogs. 🙂 They need their own blog.

    I’m glad he is okay. I’m looking forward to meeting them.

    Dianne

    September 8, 2007 at 3:29 pm

  6. LMAO at Scout and Maggie’s comments!!!

    Carmen

    September 8, 2007 at 4:15 pm

  7. I agree – sounds like the pups need their own blog!

    Eric

    September 8, 2007 at 11:22 pm


Leave a Reply

