blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Just Stuff

with 7 comments

Work:
Had asked off for Friday of last week, ended up having to work about half a day. Let my boss know that I was tired of work infringing on my life. Think he got it… we’ll see.

Play:
Had a great time with Laura at her cabin, along with her friends, Frannie and Randy. What a wonderful place to get away. The first thing you’ll notice is the clean smell (well, it’s actually decomposing leaves, but it’s that clean smell one associates with the mountains). Best moment: Late at night, I was sitting on the day bed on the upper balcony. It was kinda of chilly, but I wasn’t cold. Laura brought out an open blanket and was heading toward me. I said, “That’s okay, I don’t need a blanket.” She put it on me anyway. It was fresh out of the dryer!! The warm, toastiness of it was perfect!!

Computer:
ARRRGGGHHHH!!!! Okay, so I’ve already had the power supply on my G5 go out. Got that replaced, fortunately, it was covered under my extended warranty, so I didn’t have to pay more, just be inconvenienced.

However, I noticed that it was running my large applications really slowly. I did lots of troubleshooting and nothing seemed to help. I finally realized that it was only running on 512 MB of RAM!!! I have 4.5 GB of RAM in the computer!!!

After an embarassing episode of accusing the power supply tech of being a thief (for which I profusely apologized when I realized what really happened…long story), I went ahead and bought 8 more GB of RAM. Much to my chagrin, now NONE of my RAM is being recognized. No matter what configuration I put them in, the computer won’t recognize any of it.

So, I have a printer deadline on Tuesday, but I’m thinking “It’s okay. The files were backed up onto my external drive.” My backup software had been saying every day, “Your files have been successfully backed up.” So, of course, silly me, I believed it.

Monday night, I hook up my external drive to transfer the files to my laptop so I can prepare them for the printer… to my horror, NOTHING had been backed up since July 4!!!!

So, I was talking to Dianne about it, and she suggested a data recovery place in Marietta. I called them yesterday and asked if they could expedite recovery of files off my hard drive, since it’s the only place the printer files existed.

After driving back and forth to Marietta, spending over $500 ($300 of which was a deposit which will be refunded when I return the external drive), and taking off several hours of work, I finally get the files transferred, prepared, and am about to upload them. Whew!!

Bummer of it all, I still don’t have access to my desktop computer, so I’ll have to hassle around with that later on.

Health:
I have a frickin’ sty on my eye! What is that about?! I woke up today with my eye nearly swollen shut and very red and painful.

Okay, that’s it. I just had to share, the good, the bad, and the ugly. πŸ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

September 5, 2007 at 11:27 pm

Posted in Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, the good sounded really good. Need a warm fleece blanket?

    The computer stuff? I’m glad IT is on the other end of the phone for my company laptop πŸ™‚

    Sorry about the sty.

    Is it the sty that’s the ugly? πŸ™‚

    Ru's Mom

    September 5, 2007 at 11:49 pm

  2. I know. Scary, isn’t it πŸ˜€

    Ru's Mom

    September 6, 2007 at 12:03 am

  3. If ever “beer me” was appropriate, it might just be here! I had a nasty sty a number of years ago that was horribly painful and swollen to the point that I could barely see out of the eye. I ended up going to a 24-hour clinic to have it checked out and to get a presciption. But the end result was losing any fear of having my fingers up around my eyes, so I went ahead and got contact lenses. The proverbial “silver lining”!

    Sorry to hear about all the computer and work tribulations, too. Too bad the mountain trip wasn’t at the end of the week (to help redeem the week), but maybe starting off with the mountains made the week ‘just’ a bit more bearable.

    Eric

    September 6, 2007 at 5:57 am

  4. I didn’t notice the sty last night. It must be clearing up. It was good to see you again! Sorry to hear about the sucky work stuff!

    Carmen

    September 7, 2007 at 9:11 pm

  5. Just keep thinking about the blanket. Maybe it will block out the rest of your week. πŸ™‚

    Dianne

    September 8, 2007 at 3:26 pm


Leave a Reply

