blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Why We Fight

with 8 comments

200px-why_we_fight.jpgI just finished watching a documentary on cable titled Why We Fight. The whole theme of it revolves around Eisenhower’s warning in 1961 that the “industrial-military complex” threatens to take the place of true democracy, especially in matters pertaining to war and the motives, ways, and means they are fought.

It’s not as “over the top” as Fahrenheit 911. You get the feeling that the director has a message he’s trying to get across, of course, but it seems more like he’s saying “Consider this. Connect the dots for yourselves,” rather than Moore’s attitude of “Here’s the truth.”

It’s frightening in its implications, thought-provoking, anger-inducing and sad. It left me more convinced than ever that whoever controls the media, controls the minds of the masses. So we have to backtrack and see where the trail leads, and when we find out who’s behind it all, ask ourselves, “What do they have to gain from all of this?”

The answers are disturbing and totally opposite to the America I hold in my heart.

Written by blogicalinks

September 4, 2007 at 10:05 pm

Posted in Sharing, Venting

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was an eye-opening but, like you said, disheartening movie to watch since it hurts to view America’s agenda that way. I was getting into the details too much that I had to step back before I became a total conspiracy theorist. Life is too short. I’d rather think happy thoughts even though I like to be informed.

    Carmen

    September 4, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  2. You are dead on with “whoever controls the media, controls the thoughts of the masses.” “They” control thet TV content, radio content, the books that are widely distributed, the items in libraries, the newspapers and magazines… that is the best way for “them” to get into our heads. And “they” start with the youth. That’s why Clinton got on MTV, etc. And who in the world thinks an 18 year old has the intelligence to vote???

    And don’t ask me who “they” is because I don’t know.

    Dianne

    September 4, 2007 at 10:53 pm

  3. One thing I’ll add: If we (and I mean us as a whole society, not the readers herein specifically) didn’t demand the absolute lowest price on everything we buy, then maybe there wouldn’t be such a demand for cheap third-world labor and raping the land to save the bottom line. Now, I know that’s a simplistic comment, and I am as guilty as everyone else, but it is worth thinking about.

    The “media controls the masses” discussion spurs several things in me. I hear often about how the popular media does not accurately report what happens in Iraq, and how they tend to be very biased towards certain political candidates or parties. I realize that these are for-profit businesses that have to generate income for their stockholders, but I seriously question their motives and morals.

    It all comes down to the dollar$.

    Eric Kaplan

    September 5, 2007 at 8:22 am

  4. Cheryl, I firmly believe that if you would just embrace the Harry Potter movies and books that I tried to get you into that you poo-poohed, you would live in a happy, make-believe world like me and wouldn’t have time for all of this deep thought.

    When are we going to Disney?

    valitalynn

    September 7, 2007 at 9:30 am

  5. YES, Harry Potter can solve many of our problems! That’s the first movie we are watching!!

    Yeah, Valitalynn – Come to DragonCon next year! 🙂

    Dianne

    September 8, 2007 at 3:42 pm


Leave a Reply

