blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Make It Stop!!!

with 7 comments

mban1815l.jpgOMG!! I don’t know if any of you know this about me, but I have tinnitus. I’ve had it for as long as I can remember, and most of the time, it’s something I don’t even pay attention to, unless I focus on it. When external noises are practically non-existent, it “seems” louder, but I think that’s because it moves to the foreground of what I’m hearing.

Anyway, for the last few days, the noise has progressively moved more “into the foreground.” Tonight, I went to the bathroom (to do what most of us do in the bathroom), and I couldn’t hear the TV, nor the floor fan, and the air conditioner fan wasn’t on. OMG!! The shrillness was so loud, it was all I could do to stay put and not run back to the noise of the TV!!

My particular tinnitus is not ringing as much as it is a very high-pitched whistling sound. Imagine what it must sound like right before a dog whistle goes silent because it’s so high, and that’s what I hear when it’s bothering me. I’ve wondered why it’s gotten so bad the past few days, thinking it might be stress-related (work-induced stress), and sure enough, there seems to be a connection. Of course, stress can be connected to just about anything, but I think there might be something to this.

There were times today when I was actually and very seriously trying to figure out if I could quit my job and still keep my house. I’m trying not to make any rash, knee-jerk decisions, but I do know that I do not intend to live/work like this for much longer. So given that kind of work atmosphere, my stress levels are running rampant. I know it’s affecting me (even if I don’t show it outwardly too much), because my fingertips are breaking out again. (I know, I know… it’s a weird thing that happens to my hands when I’m REALLY stressed out. It’s basically like having hives on my fingertips.)

So that’s my whining for the day/night. Do any of you suffer from tinnitus? Do you find it’s worse when you’re stressed out, or are there other causes you’re aware of?

Written by blogicalinks

August 31, 2007 at 12:20 am

Posted in Sharing, Venting, Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No.
    How do loud noises affect it?
    When I get stressed the back of my knees itch.
    It’s especially bad just before I serve in tennis.
    Not very helpful, am I?

    Ru's Mom

    August 31, 2007 at 12:32 am

  2. Are you playing ALTA?

    Ru's Mom

    August 31, 2007 at 12:52 am

  3. The most stressful part of my tennis game is on the court (anwyhere…on the court!).

    I think I have the same thing as you, only much milder. Ever turn the TV on without the volume, then walk out of the room – you know the TV is on because you can hear this high-pitched “wheeeeee” coming from the electronics. I get that sometimes. When I was a kid, I went to the doctor about it – but he couldn’t find anything wrong.

    I’m actually surprised that it hasn’t gotten worse over the years. Certainly my stress levels have increased over the years, and I’ve done so much damage to my hearing in the past (concerts, racing, machinery, etc.). I’m just thankful that it’s never gotten to the point that it would bother me.

    Eric

    August 31, 2007 at 5:53 am

  4. I have tinnitus. 4 maybe even 5 different tones no less. Including the high pitched hissing. It’s loud and unmaskable. Unless the docs can find a cause (Usually they cannot) you are left to your own devices. Medications such as Anti-Depressants and Anti-Anxiety drugs may help. Other than that try to keep busy. Learn what helps you relax the most. Use masking if it works. Try looking into residual inhibition sounds (Crinkly plastic bags, showers etc) and see if they temporarily reduce the tinnitus. Some tinnitus is reactive to sound. Especially broadband sound like crowds etc. It’s a horrible thing to have because there is no cure and the doctors know very little about it or do not care very much because they see it as non-life threatening. Don’t give up hope though there are a few working on it in the field. Just do what you can to get by.

    Darrin

    September 2, 2007 at 8:46 am

  5. I hear that high pitched ringing a lot too, but I think, like Eric, I just damaged my ears when I was younger. Rock concerts, loud radios, etc… It seems to come and go as it wants, but if things are quiet, that’s when I’ll notice it. It doesn’t take much noise to make me ignore it though.

    Dianne

    September 3, 2007 at 6:38 pm


Leave a Reply

