blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

W.W.Y.D…?

with 6 comments

mega_millions_logo.png…with all that money from MegaMillions?

So how about it? An early Sunday Question for you: How would you take the payout—lump sum ($192 million) or payment over 26 years ($12 million per year)? And after talking to an advisor and knowing that you’ll probably do good, charitable things down the road, blah, blah, blah, what are five things you would do/buy in the FIRST WEEK if you won the lottery?

My answers:
• Lump sum

1) Quit my job IMMEDIATELY and probably start looking for a house in B’ham
2) Buy my parents whatever they want (Which would probably be new living room curtains for Mama and a case of silver spray paint for my dad. 🙂
3) Buy a new vehicle…something with more cargo space than my little Corolla
4) Buy a new camera (something that rivals Eric’s smoking new shooter 🙂
5) Buy a complete Mac system with blazing speed, video cards, etc.

Written by blogicalinks

August 30, 2007 at 8:28 pm

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Probably lump sum.

    I don’t know what I’d buy. I can’t think of anything. I’d probably just plan the next series of trips. While I was gone, I’d have the contractors come in and finish renovating the farmhouse and I’d have the repairs that the cabin needs done. I think I’d put a nice new fence up around the pastures and have a little barn built (although it will hurt to tear down my granddaddy’s ramshackle barn/ shelter). Oh, DEFINITELY! I’d have a new well bored/drilled 🙂

    I’m lucky blessed enough that no one in my family really needs anything. The college educations of the kids are secured. Everyone has what they really need. I’m not trying to be goody-two shoes, but I would spend it on travel and charity. If I WERE to buy something, it would be a house near the beach – but certainly not in the first week 🙂

    Okay. A digital camera.

    Ru's Mom

    August 30, 2007 at 9:57 pm

  2. I’ll take the lump sum. And quitting my job is a given, so I won’t include that in the top-5.
    1) Housing: I’ll buy something in the suburbs where I can get a few acres but still be close to all my friends and charity work. The house itself is not important, but the outbuilding will have a few garage spaces, a full metal workshop, a full wood workshop, and a gym. I’ll also get a small farm in the mountains for retreats.
    2) Transportation: Look for a Dodge Viper as the ‘everyday’ car. I’ll also get a Dodge 3500 Ram Quad-cab Dualie, and a matching cargo trailer.
    3) Hobby #1: With that new workshop and garage, and cargo trailer, I’ll jump feet-first into buying and restoring old cars, starting with a 1969 Camaro SS. Then I’ll buy my uncle’s 1963 Corvette split-window and restore it.
    4) Hobby #2: If it’s made for Canon digital SLR’s, I’m buying it! Some of those nice white IS lenses like the pros use. And someone to teach me how to use it all.
    5) Technology: And to link it all together, a new Mac desktop with all the bells and whistles. Gotta be able to design parts, then link it to the workshop for fabrication. And AirTunes throughout the complex so I can listen to music everywhere.

    Of course, with $192 million (about $120 after taxes), I’ll have plenty more. I’ll start a charitable foundation, payoff the debt of all my friends and family, and buy my parents a place up here, too!

    Now… I just need to get out and buy a ticket!

    Eric

    August 30, 2007 at 10:21 pm

  3. Ya wanna start on a 1978 SuperBeetle convertible?

    Ru's Mom

    August 31, 2007 at 12:11 am

  4. Its not a 1978! Now I can’t remember the year! 😦
    1972? It’s an antique anyway.

    Ru's Mom

    August 31, 2007 at 12:12 am

  5. I was living in an apartment when I was offered a 1969 Beetle – all I had to do was find a place to put it. I think it’s used as a doghouse now! Crud. Anyway, if I win tonight, I’ll make sure the SuperBeetle is on the list!

    Eric

    August 31, 2007 at 5:47 am

  6. Oh fun! I would definitely take the lump sum and invest it right away (whatever I don’t blow in the first few days).

    1. Traveling. Lots and lots of traveling.
    2. New cars. A Porsche and a Karmann Ghia for me.
    3. Stuff for our house. Finish the upstairs, a two car garage, sod for the yard.
    4. A desktop Mac.
    5. A big TV.

    That’s the only big stuff I can think of for now. There are lots of charities and people I would buy stuff for too.

    Carmen

    September 4, 2007 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

