blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Sunday Question–Attraction

with 8 comments

I was talking to a friend last night, and I said, “I’m very attracted to intelligent people… and people with a sense of humor.” And I got to thinking about that. I’ve found that most funny people are also usually pretty smart. But not all smart people are funny. Odd.

Anyway, today’s question: What are three things that really attract you to someone? I don’t necessarily mean in a romantic way, but just in a way that pulls you toward another person. (Don’t feel badly if your answer is something like looks or money or power, I really want to know what other people think.)

My answers:
• Intelligence
• Sense of humor
• Unselfishness

Written by blogicalinks

August 26, 2007 at 12:42 pm

Posted in Sunday Question

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. – Intelligence
    – Inner strength
    – Sense of humor

    I guess I should describe what I mean about inner strength. I feel very strongly that everyone should be proud of who they are to a certain extent. I don’t like vain or overly egotistical people, but being happy and/or in tune with yourself is important to me when I make friends.

    Carmen

    August 26, 2007 at 3:23 pm

  2. Well, you can’t go wrong with intelligence and sense of humor. I mean, who wants to hang around with stupid people who don’t laugh 🙂

    After that, glass-half full kind of people. Things happen. Life happens. It’s how you handle it that’s the trick – I think. I’ve been around people who are energy drains. I’ve “been with” people who are energy drains. Sometimes I fear I’m wallowing in my stuff too much – but I tell myself I’m just trying to sort things out. An associate (not really a friend) nearby is going through a tough time and our mutual friend wants me to spend time with Mystery Woman. I’ve tried – but even going to a movie with Mystery Woman drains me so much I can’t stand it. The negativity is just overwhelming for me. I don’t have the stamina for it at the present time.

    Sense of self? I’m not sure how to phrase it, but I’m drawn to people who have a real sense of who they are. Quiet, outgoing, talkative, quiet, etc., it doesn’t really matter as long as they are comfortable in their own skin.

    Reflective – Frannie and I were talking about this today. We know people who stay so busy it’s hard to imagine how they have time for anyone or anything new in their lives. Do they ever just get still and reflect on their lives? It concerns me when the busy-ness seems frantic. I tried to date someone like that and it was exhausting for me and not a good match for me.

    Faith – I’ve been away from the church for years and have been back for a couple of years. It would be nice to find someone to share this with.

    Good – I really want to be around people who are, for the most part, “good” people and who reflect that in their decision making process.

    Ru's Mom

    August 26, 2007 at 3:44 pm

  3. Sorry. I didn’t follow the rules. That was more than three 😦

    Ru's Mom

    August 26, 2007 at 3:45 pm

  4. I agree with all of you. I like folks that are intelligent and have a sense of humor. I also like the folks who don’t get wrapped up in the minute details, nor let their lives get ruined by petty things. I like folks that are down-to-earth, who don’t feel like friendship and relationships are based on material things. And folks who like me for who I am.

    Eric

    August 26, 2007 at 4:59 pm

  5. A really big limit on their VISA card. And a willingness to spend it on me.

    Cara

    August 27, 2007 at 6:43 am

  6. * Intelligence
    * Sense of Humor
    * A Trust Fund

    Dianne

    August 27, 2007 at 7:39 pm

  7. Dianne, meet Cara.
    Cara, meet Dianne.
    🙂

    Ru's Mom

    August 27, 2007 at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

