blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Lovin’ on Dan

with 6 comments

00000000000000001436-800x800_72dpi_rgb.jpgI finally did it—bought eight Dan Fogelberg albums off iTunes! I knew I’d never get around to making my CDs into MP3s, and I couldn’t stand not being able to shuffle Dan around on iTunes, so I forked out the dough. Now I’m working (well, procrastinating right at this moment) and listening to Dan.

Here are the lyrics to one of my favorites, Nexus. Honestly, I think this would stand alone as a poem, but it’s even better with his music. (I was going to link to an audio clip, but it only plays the opening instrumental part.) Enjoy:

Nexus

Across the vein of night
There cuts a path of searing light,
Burning like a beacon
On the edges of our sight.

At the point of total darkness
And the light’s divine divide,
A soul can let its shadow stretch
And land on either side—
either side.

And balanced on the precipice
The moment must reveal—
Naked in the face of time
Our race within the wheel.

As we hang beneath the heavens,
And we hover over hell,
Our hearts become the instruments
We learn to play so well.

(Chorus)
Wealthy the spirit that knows its
own flight;
Stealthy the hunter who slays
his own fright;
Blessed the traveler who journeys
the length of the light.

Outside the pull of gravity
Beyond the spectral veil,
Within our careful reasoning
We search to no avail
For the constant in the chaos,
For the fulcrum in the void,
Following a destiny
Our steps cannot avoid.

Across the vein of night
There cuts a path of searing light,
Burning like a beacon
On the edges of our sight.

At the point of total darkness
And the light’s divine divide,
A soul can let its shadow
Stretch and land on either side.

(Chorus)

In a spiral never-ending
Are we drawn towards the source,
Spinning at the mercy of an
unrelenting force.

So we stare into the emptiness
and fall beneath the weight;
Circling the Nexus in a
fevered dance with fate.

(Chorus)

Written by blogicalinks

August 26, 2007 at 9:05 pm

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good song.

    Dianne

    August 27, 2007 at 7:40 pm

  2. I’m a big Dan fan from way back. Nether Lands would be a desrt island disc for me, and I’ve always appreciated his lyrics. As you say, many of them are strong enough to stand as poetry and I frequently look to him for inspiration in my own writing.

    Lance

    August 28, 2007 at 11:07 am

  3. Indeed. I’ve got some great memories attached to that song. 🙂 There’s some other favorites on HomeFree too – More Than Ever, Wysteria and Stars… I still play Stars (along with a bunch of other Dan tunes) in my own gigs. Glad to have found another DanFan.

    Lance

    August 28, 2007 at 2:37 pm

  4. Yeah, Full Circle was a disappointment, but he actually started a slow decline for me around Windows and Walls. I don’t usually bother with re-releases either, though the notes sound interesting.
    Playing his stuff isn’t too bad but singing it is another matter. The man had quite a voice and used every corner of it. I’m less a singer than a guitar player so keeping up with him vocally is quite a challenge. I take a bit of perverse comfort in his “Live: Greetings From the West” DVD – he was obviously having a bit of trouble hitting the high notes in his own stuff, so I don’t feel so bad.
    Way to go on learning guitar – it’s been an unending source of satisfaction (and modest income) for me since I started plunking in junior high school all those years ago. Keep at it! Maybe try writing a song or two of your own if you haven’t yet… 🙂

    Lance

    August 29, 2007 at 8:08 am


Leave a Reply

