blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Makes Me Wonder

with 6 comments

makemewondercover.jpg(I couldn’t think of a good photo to go with this post, so I decided to Google “Makes Me Wonder” and see what images come up. First one that came up is the cover for the new Maroon 5 CD. I just happen to love their music, so I decided to use it. No significance to the post otherwise. 🙂

Do you ever wonder about the lives of total strangers you encounter every day? Sometimes when I’m REALLY bored (especially sitting in traffic), I imagine the lives of the people I see around me, and I launch my narrative based on what they look like at that particular moment… harried, hurried, worried, happy, bored, laughing, angry. The body language fights you can see in a rear view mirror can be quite captivating sometimes!

One of my recurring favorites is an Indian couple I see every morning on my way to work, at a stretch of road where the traffic moves very slowly. I’d guess this couple is in their 70’s, and they’re very distinguished looking… he with his snow-white hair against his dark skin, always wearing neatly-pressed, white linen nehru shirt and camel-colored linen pants, and she with her peppered hair in a long braid and wearing beautifully-colored saris.

Their pace is brisk, their strides purposeful and evenly paced. He seems to always be looking straight ahead, though I’ve seen her stop to look at something on the sidewalk. The interesting thing is that she is ALWAYS at least 10 paces or so behind him! I suppose that’s an Indian culture/Hindu thing? I don’t know.

Does she walk behind him because it’s representative of her place in the relationship? Does she know how it looks to an outsider? Does she care? Does she feel “less than” he? If it is a cultural and life-long thing with her, does she long for what she’s never known? Does she view American women as being disrespectful when she sees how/where they walk in relationship to the man?

My story for them continues to unfold in my head. I add a little to it everytime I see them. And while I wish that I would one day see them walking side by side, I think it will make me sad if I ever see either of them walking alone.

Written by blogicalinks

August 21, 2007 at 1:57 am

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do this all the time. Frannie was teasing me about it this weekend. I’d forgotten that I had pulled her into too.
    We call it “Tell me a story” – and you make up the story to go along with the characters. 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    August 21, 2007 at 10:22 am

  2. I love people watching. All of those kinds of questions run through my head too. I’m glad I’m not the only one. 😛

    Carmen

    August 21, 2007 at 12:32 pm

  3. Ditto on the people watching. That’s half the fun of working at the Dogwood Festival or going to the mall. I have to admit, though, that it traffic I tend to be more cynical than creative when it comes to th people around me – especially the ones so obsessed with their cell phone that they can’t pay attention.

    Eric

    August 21, 2007 at 8:37 pm

  4. It’s the mark of a good creative writer. 🙂

    Dianne

    August 23, 2007 at 7:47 pm

  5. Hmmm…. doesn’t that mean a writer has to put pen to paper?

    Ru's Mom

    August 24, 2007 at 5:33 pm

  6. Or fingers to keys. 🙂

    Dianne

    August 27, 2007 at 8:08 pm


Leave a Reply

