blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Sunday Question

with 8 comments

I’m modifying my question. Please see the new question below.

This Sunday’s question:
What’s one thing in the Atlanta area that you want to do/see, but haven’t done/seen yet, and why do you want to see/do it? What’s the most fun thing you’ve done in Atlanta so far? (For any B’ham readers who might want to respond, apply the questions to B’ham. I never went to the Civil Rights Museum there, so I’d still like to do that. I went to Sloss Furnace several times to take photos, and always enjoyed that.)

My answer:
It’s hard to pick one since seeing the aquarium is about all I’ve done since I’ve been here. Oh, and I finally went to a Braves game this weekend. Other than that, I’d really like to go to the Fernbank Museum. I’ve heard it’s really interesting, and I love that kind of stuff.

Written by blogicalinks

August 19, 2007 at 10:27 pm

Posted in Sunday Question

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Carter Center

    Ru's Mom

    August 19, 2007 at 10:41 pm

  2. Also this –
    http://www.preserveatlanta.com/walkingtours.htm

    Why the Carter Center? Hmmmm…. maybe because it’s there – and I’ve not been?

    What have I enjoyed in Atlanta? I grew up here – so LOTS!
    Really enjoyed listening to Franklin Garrett at the annual Oakland Cemetery festival a few years ago. LOVE tours of homes and gardens, Think the aquarium is great. Going to the new World of Coke next month with Club Mark. My all-time favorite? Probably Easter sunrise service on Stone Mountain.

    I’m a movie nut and a “see new things” nut – so if anyone wants to go see something really obsicure, give me a call 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    August 19, 2007 at 11:11 pm

  3. I really want to see the Gypsy Kings at Chastain Park for two reasons. I grew up listening to them and think they are such awesome artists and I have never been to Chastain. They come almost every year but it’s so expensive. 😦

    So far, I have to say going to professional sports games (Braves, Thrashers and Falcons) has been memorable and so fun. The Georgia Aquarium is at the top of the list too.

    Carmen

    August 20, 2007 at 10:48 am

  4. I would really like to go to the new World of Coke, and the History Center. I never made the History Center a priority, so I’ve never been. Right now, they have a Ben Franklin exhibit that looks pretty cool, so I need to make a point to finally go.

    As for things I’ve enjoyed: I always like the Braves games, even the cheap seats. Used to love student tickets at the old Fulton County stadium. The CNN studio tour is pretty interesting, and the aquarium is cool. Of course, I’m also partial to all the great festivals. Atlanta Dogwood is in April, but next month (Sept 15-16th) is the new Atlanta Arts Festival in Piedmont Park, and in October (20-21st) is the new StreetStage Atlanta festival at Woodruff Park downtown.

    Eric Kaplan

    August 20, 2007 at 1:33 pm

  5. I think a Braves game would be up on my list of what to do next, I haven’t been to the Ted. Don’t they have bison burgers or some such thing?

    I gotta say the Olympics was the most enjoyable thing I’ve done here, but since it’s not recurring, I guess it doesn’t count. World-class badmiton was a real trip. The whole Olympics are kinda hazy to me, due to severe sleep deprivation. All we did was watch or attend events for a couple of weeks.

    In the category of offbeat, I really like Fernbank science center (not the museum, though that’s cool too.) I went there on field trips as a kid. They have a planetarium and they have open nights where you can go look through their telescope. Oh, and DragonCon is coming up. And there’s Stone Mountain, Pride, just hanging out in Decatur, blah, blah, blah…. We have it all here! Unfortunately, we have the traffic that comes with it.

    Cara

    August 20, 2007 at 4:31 pm

  6. Seats in the Lexus level are great! You get to go into the air-conditioned concourse, eat in the nice coolness, even curl up on a leather chair and watch the game on the monitors.

    Kris often gets tix from vendors. I’ll give a shout out the next time she has some. I think I’ve found some folks who may be interested 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    August 21, 2007 at 10:24 am

  7. What I have not done: CNN Tour and World of Coke. I have never done DragonCon either, but I got tickets to that and I’m going to go be a freak with the best of ’em!

    What I have done: The Olympics rank WAY up there on my list too. That was an awesome two weeks and one of the best vacations I have ever had – and you know a vacation where I don’t have to leave town is a great thing to me. LOL!

    I have also thoroughly enjoyed watching Mei Lan grow up. I’ve read the panda blog daily for a year, and I’ve been a faithful panda cam watcher. I have also been to the zoo several times this year, including her naming ceremony with Cara and Cheryl, and on Sept. 6, Eric and I are going to her first birthday party.

    Dianne

    August 23, 2007 at 7:42 pm


Leave a Reply

