blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Happy Birthday, Dan

with 3 comments

mystic.jpgDan Fogelberg turns 56 today. He is my all-time favorite singer/songwriter and has been since college, when I heard the “Home Free” album. I’ve bought every album (and CDs) he put out since that first one… except his “Best of” compilations. I’ve only bought one of those.

His lyrics are absolute poetry, and his music—while often heavy on the orchestration, especially in the early years—is amazing. He plays practically every instrument ever invented, and his music spans ballads, rock, instrumental, pop, and bluegrass.

He is the only artist whose music has been with me through all the phases of my life as an adult. That kind of longevity creates a really neat bond with his music that I don’t share with anyone else, and that makes him very special to me.

I found out a couple of years ago that he has advanced prostate cancer. He’s quit recording and touring, understandably so, of course, but I wish he’d put some new material out. I figured he would “mine” this life-changing event for all it was worth. Perhaps he’s putting all of his energy into his healing, or maybe he just doesn’t feel good. In any case, I still hope he starts to write new music.

Happy Birthday, Dan! You’re the best!!

Written by blogicalinks

August 13, 2007 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Birthday Dan! I hope he gets well and writes too. I’ve been a long time fan also. And I’ll always remember singing “Morning Sky” and “As The Raven Flies” with you the first time we met! 🙂

    Dianne

    August 14, 2007 at 6:43 am

  2. I’m not as big of a fan, but then I’m not as musical as y’all either. He does have some great songs so I’m with ya on wanting to hear more. Sadly, I have a problem listening to him ever since a friend karaoked one of his songs…oh, the humanity!

    Cara

    August 14, 2007 at 8:05 am

  3. I only know about two songs of his, but I hope he had a great birthday too.

    Carmen

    August 14, 2007 at 10:07 am


Leave a Reply

