blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Blogging About a Photo, Part II

with 8 comments

daddys-fish.jpgHere’s the only photo I have of my dad’s state record striped bass. (That is not my dad holding it.) The photo was taken for the newspaper in 1959, and our only copy of the picture was unprotected and folded up for a long time. Eventually, a piece of it tore off, hence the missing piece. Then, Mama “protected” it between two sheets of clear contact paper… a rural version of lamination, I suppose. ๐Ÿ™‚ Needless to say, the scan is not very good, but hopefullly, you can get an idea of the fish’s size.

I don’t know if you’ll be able to read the text at the bottom, but they have the weight wrong. It’s not 63 lbs., it was 55 lbs. But still, quite a large fish.

If you google my dad’s name (Charles Totty) and “state record,” you’ll get several hits on sites which publish fishing records. However, all of them list the year as 1955, but it was really 1959. However, even though the listing is four years off, 48 years is still a long time for a record to stand.

Daddy said that he wouldn’t be surprised if his record is never broken. Apparently, before the dams were built, striped bass used to grow big in the Gulf and then spawn upstream in the inland rivers. Now that the dams have been built, there’s no more spawning upstream. And the stripes that are stocked in Alabama’s lakes and rivers just don’t get as big. So unless they create a separate category for stocked stripes, Daddy’s record for striped bass will stand for a while longer!

Written by blogicalinks

August 7, 2007 at 8:05 pm

Posted in Sharing

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool!! That’s funny that the paper gave him credit for a larger fish, caught longer ago. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dianne

    August 7, 2007 at 10:38 pm

  2. Oooh! The blog changed colors! Pretty!

    Was somebody bored tonight?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Dianne

    August 7, 2007 at 10:40 pm

  3. Now I really need to do some digging. I have an article about my grandfather somewhere around here. I think it was when he became ‘horseshoe champion’ of Miami, or something like that.

    BTW – thanks for the add to the “Good Stuff” column!

    Eric

    August 8, 2007 at 8:07 pm

  4. I’ve got too many scoundrels in my family. Not sure I want to do too much digging! :-D…

    Ru's Mom

    August 9, 2007 at 4:50 pm

  5. Holy mother of striped bass!!!! That’s the big one that *didn’t* get away! Whew!

    Great photo, Cheryl. Thanks for sharing!

    Carmen

    August 10, 2007 at 10:14 am

  6. I’m glad I got to see that fish photo; you don’t know me but you’ll recognize my name ! I spoke with your daddy once; I called him up out of the blue one day – he seemed to be quite a pleasant & friendly man; and he thought it was hilarious to find out I’d taken credit for catching that bass ( a little forgery with web based articles) even though I wasn’t born until 2 years after he caught it – you see, my name is also Charles Totty!!!!

    Charles Totty

    February 10, 2009 at 3:29 am


Leave a Reply

