blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Mosquitoes, Anyone?

with 11 comments

Good Lord! I just got back in the house from watering my dying roses, tomatoes, azaleas, strawberries, etc. (Basically, if it’s in the back yard, it’s thirsty.)

I probably spent 30-40 minutes out there, and I’m not kidding you, I’ve got over 40 mosquito bites! I’m going to wear a dress to work tomorrow so that I can show my legs and prove to someone that I’m not exaggerating!! Thing is, I sprayed myself well BEFORE I went out there, and then again when I first felt myself getting bitten. Apparently, the insect repellent is no longer repelling!!

I started rushing through the watering process (much to the imagined chagrin of my plants), all the while thinking “West Nile virus. West Nile virus. West Nile virus….” And get this, I even got bitten on my chin!!! I’ve never had such aggressive mosquitoes! I thought they flourished around water, not during droughts!!

Anyone else having this problem?

Written by blogicalinks

August 6, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Posted in Venting

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those anti-itch pens are just ammonia – so if you have any, wipe that on the bites. Good luck!

    Ru's Mom

    August 6, 2007 at 9:44 pm

  2. I am having sand gnats or something swarming all over my yard. I can hardly stand to be out there right now. Every time I go out, I come back in with about 20 bites from a combination of the gnats and the mosquitos. And I couldn’t find anything but Orajel to put on them either! But it worked!

    I want a picture of you in that dress.

    Dianne

    August 6, 2007 at 10:12 pm

  3. My dad used to spend every afternoon after work picking blackberries and never got one chigger bite.

    He drank a shot of vinegar before he went outside. It makes your sweat taste too bad for bugs to bite.

    PS – I’ve worn a dress two days in a row πŸ™‚

    Ru's Mom

    August 6, 2007 at 10:22 pm

  4. I had quite a challenge when I mowed the grass on Sunday. For me, Benadryl gel helps for the after-bite.

    Funny thing: mosquitos thrive in wet environments (puddles of standing water, etc.). But we’re in a drought! Where are they “thriving”???

    Eric Kaplan

    August 7, 2007 at 12:17 pm

  5. My grandmother used the ink from a ballpoint pen on bee stings and meat tenderizer on jellyfish stings. I’ve also heard that toothpaste helps with itchy bites, although I can’t imagine how any of those three would help itching. I’m betting (hoping) that you have toothpaste in the house though!

    Dianne

    August 7, 2007 at 10:44 pm

  6. My great-grandmother used snuff on bee stings.
    πŸ˜€

    Ru's Mom

    August 7, 2007 at 11:12 pm

  7. :-D….
    LOL!!!

    Dianne

    August 8, 2007 at 9:09 am

  8. Next time, remember… prevention is the best medicine! Get some Deet!

    Carmen

    August 10, 2007 at 10:10 am


Leave a Reply

