blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Blogging About a Photo, Part I

with 12 comments

Update: I’m doing something I hardly ever do… posting a picture of myself. But I thought for the sake of this post, a comparison is in order. I don’t have that many photos of myself. This one was from two years ago (right after getting a very short haircut!). The sun’s coming from a different direction, our hair is parted differently, I’m smiling, and my grandmother doesn’t have a double chin (well, neither did I at 19). So it might not seem as readily apparent to y’all as it does to me. Anyway, here it is.

grandmother-laura.jpg me.jpgOkay, those of you who don’t know what I look like, or who haven’t seen me that much won’t understand the significance of this photo. It’s a photo of my Grandmother Laura. Mama said she thinks her mom was about 19 in this photo, but people in old photos all look older to me than they really are. I’ve done no mending of this photo. I’m sure I can make it look a lot better. (Clicking on it will bring up the larger image, if you’re interested.)

Anyway, those of you who have seen my face a lot, don’t you think I strongly resemble her? I always wondered where I got my chunky nose, because my Dad’s got a big ol’ eagle snorter, and my mom’s got a graceful, straight nose. When I found this picture a couple of years ago (the only one that shows her face well), I realized where the nose, the low brow, the high cheeks/flat face comes from. ๐Ÿ™‚

I wish I had known her. She died of tuberculosis when she was only 36. Her husband (my granddad) had died two years before, at age 38, of TB as well, and her son (my uncle) had died 10 years earlier from pneumonia at age 7. Needless to say, she had a hard life. My mom was fortunate that her mom’s sister took her in at age 12 and treated her like one of her own. The last time I was at home, Mama and I were both talking about how much we missed “Big Mama,” the aunt who raised her.

Anyway, this is why I look the way I look. ๐Ÿ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

August 6, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know about the resemblence, but she had a great name! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Ru's Mom

    August 6, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  2. Cool! It would be neat to take a picture of you in the same position with the same expression and then lay them over each other and see how it compares. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do see the resemblance! And Laura Delayne is a pretty name. You could name your next cat that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Dianne

    August 6, 2007 at 10:17 pm

  3. Mine was going to be Laura Katharine – and call her Katie.
    Laura = grandmother and Kate = Hepburn

    Ru's Mom

    August 6, 2007 at 10:20 pm

  4. TWINS!

    Ru's Mom

    August 6, 2007 at 11:10 pm

  5. I see a resemblance. Nice post, too.

    I should do the same thing. My Dad has a picture somewhere of him when he was about 16. It is amazing how much we look alike.

    By the way, if you have any interest in comparing pictures, check out http://www.atlantatimemachine.com – a guy went to the Georgia State archives and found all kinds of old pictures of Atlanta, then went and tried to recreate the scene today. Some very cool things!

    Eric Kaplan

    August 7, 2007 at 12:21 pm

  6. Very cool website. Thanks, Eric!

    Ru's Mom

    August 7, 2007 at 12:28 pm

  7. Very strong resemblance. I resemble Captain Kangaroo even though we weren’t related.

    clay

    August 8, 2007 at 1:13 pm

  8. You really do resemble her a lot! That’s so cool!

    Carmen

    August 10, 2007 at 10:12 am

  9. I only look like Bunny Rabbit when I slap my head on the counter when I’m frustrated that people don’t understand me. I used to wonder what kept that rabbit from having a headache until I finally realized it was just a sock over a hand.

    clay

    August 13, 2007 at 11:16 am


Leave a Reply

