blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Good Movie

with 3 comments

Just finished watching a really good movie, “The Painted Veil,” based on a W. Somerset Maugham novel. (Apparently, it was also a movie from the 30’s (?) with Greta Garbo.)

I have to be in a certain mood/frame of mind to appreciate the length, tone, and slow unfolding of a story like this. Fortunately, tonight was one of those nights, and I found myself mesmerized by it… the story, the acting, the directing, the music, and the cinematography were all very impressive.

I started watching it because I saw that it had Naomi Watts in it. She just blew my socks off in “Mulholland Drive,” an extremely weird David Lynch movie. And I thought she was okay in “The Ring I and II,” but didn’t really get to exercise her acting chops in those. (I just watched them because they were creepy, and she’s good looking. 🙂

Edward Norton plays the other primary character, and he, IMHO, is a very under-rated actor, at least by typical Hollywood standards. I think he shone most brightly in “Fight Club” and “Primal Fear.”

And who should show up as an elderly Mother Superior but Diana Rigg?! Yes! Emma Peel from The Avengers! And she does a fantastically believable job in the role.

The tag line for the poster in this movie is “Sometimes the greatest journey is the distance between two people.” That should tell you right there that it is very much a relationship movie, very character-driven, and it is set in China during the 1920s at the start of the Communist revolution and during a cholera epidemic.

In thinking about it, I had the same reaction to this movie as I did to “Out of Africa.” And the more I think about it, it has very similar tenets… people in difficult relationships, set in awesome places, during times of cultural upheaval.

I won’t give away more except to say that if you liked Out of Africa, you will probably find yourself engaged by this movie as well. It’s available on InDemand for those of you with digital ComCast.

My rating: 8 out of 10

Written by blogicalinks

August 5, 2007 at 1:06 am

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds good. I’ll check it out. I totally agree on Edward Norton.

    Simba

    August 5, 2007 at 11:44 am

  2. I saw the previews and wanted to see it when it came out. Thanks for the reminder.

    I can’t wait for cool fall movie days at the cabin with a fire going and settling in for a movie marathon 🙂 If its raining, all the better!

    Ru's Mom

    August 5, 2007 at 4:28 pm


Leave a Reply

