blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

I Luvz Me Some Readin’

with 3 comments

Having been encouraged by two different friends on the same day to read the book “The Road,” I bought it a couple of days ago. (Along with another pair of reading glasses with stronger magnification, but that’s a story for a “frustrated-with-getting-old” post. 🙂

Another friend recommended “Guns, Germs, and Steel.” And I bought that one too. Both of them have fascinating premises, and I’ve read a little bit into each one, trying to decide which one to keep moving forward in.

“The Road” by Cormac McCarthy is a story about a father and son trying to make it to the coast somewhere in the South in the aftermath of some sort of devestation. There’s ash everywhere, and all the animals are dead. My guess is a nuclear explosion or an asteroid strike. Apparently, we’re never told, and in the end, it doesn’t matter.

We’re also not told their names nor too much history. I guess that’s to evoke the mood of the need to stay in the moment and press forward. I wont’ give away more that I’ve already read in synopses about it, but I think it will be a fascinating read and will raise some of the very questions I asked on my blog recently… what would you do if….?

“Guns, Germs, and Steel” is a Pulitzer-prize winning book written by Jared Diamond, a biologist, wanna-be anthropologist, who poses the question… why have some cultures progressed so far technologically, while others are still using stone tools? Fascinating. And before you think I’m reading a racist tome, I’m not. He doesn’t think it has much to do with race at all, but is almost totally about geology.

It will be a more difficult read, because it’s almost text-booky in its delivery. But the subject is so intriguing to me, I intend to push through.

Anyway, I’ll probably blog about these as I work through them. In the meantime, please share with me what you’re reading now, or something you’ve read that stuck with you and you think others would enjoy. Go ahead, share it with the rest of the class. (Bueller?…. Bueller?)

Written by blogicalinks

August 3, 2007 at 9:48 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harry Potter. LOL!

    Simba

    August 4, 2007 at 8:31 am

  2. I’ve got a couple of books going on right now. The only one I’ve FINISHED was a children’s book, Esperenza Rising. The story of a priveledged young Mexican girl starting over as a migrant worker in California. A quick read, but so much of the imagery and the “flow” of the book has stayed with me. The other Cheryl has my copy but if anyone is interested I’m sure she’ll be finished with it soon. I didn’t realize until half-way in the book that the chapters were named based on the fruits being harvested. Every since then I’ve wondered what the “chapters” of my life would be titled. I think this chapter would be “Drought”. 🙂

    Ru's mom

    August 4, 2007 at 10:54 am

  3. I’ll read your book Laura! I’m sorry you are having a drought over there.

    Simba

    August 5, 2007 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

