blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Bridges and Their Falling

with 10 comments

730px-fitzpatrickbridge1jpg.jpgfitzpatrickbridge2.jpgI didn’t know about the bridge collapse in Minneapolis until this morning. I read last night (sans TV in the background), and then went to bed early. When I checked the Internet this morning, it was the first time I learned of the tragedy.

Some of you who know me also know that I hate heights. And I hate crossing bridges. What I hate most is crossing a high bridge. Who knows… maybe it started with having to cross the bridge in my hometown of Tallassee, AL. (Shown in pictures)

As you will see in the little blurb at the link, it is one of the longest CURVED bridges in the world, and it also is significantly higher on the western side of the river than the eastern, so it’s both curved and sloped… uncommon features in a bridge.

It is truly beautiful. I’ve taken several photos of it myself, but don’t have any to post right now. The photos I’m posting here are from Wikipedia, but one gives you a good sense of the height (143 ft.) above the rocks in the river (and the old bridge) below. And the second image gives some sense of the curve, but not as much as it really curves.

I used to practically hold my breath every time I crossed this bridge in a car (which was often), and it still gives me the creeps when I think about it. I’ve walked across it several times, but for some odd reason, that doesn’t bother me as much. Go figure.

Now what i REALLY hate is being high up on a bridge or overpass, and getting stopped in traffic. And then you feel it, the whole thing bouncing up and down. It makes me literally nauseated to feel that movement, and not from the motion, but from anxious wondering if it’s going to hold. I prefer my concrete and steel to remain STILL, thank you very much!! 🙂

The bridge in Minneapolis was 40 years old. Tallassee’s bridge is 67!!

Anyway, I feel so badly for all those who didn’t survive this tragedy. I’m sure it was horrifying. And I can just about guarantee you that there are several folks who will have a VERY hard time crossing bridges in the future. Yeesh!

Written by blogicalinks

August 2, 2007 at 8:51 pm

Posted in Whatever

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m right there with you. I shudder every time I go through Spaghetti Junction, especially with all the “battle scars” on the side walls where cars have wrecked. And I hate that ‘bounce’ of the bridge. It’s just not natural. But one of the worst feelings was driving on Brown’s Bridge over Lake Lanier before they paved it – it was a steel grate. And when you went over it at highway speed, it felt as if you car was drifting to the side – into the lake! More than once I felt myself lifting off the gas pedal, much to the chagrin of the drivers behind me. Yet somehow, I never had a problem walking out to the middle of the Golden Gate Bridge!?!? Go figure.

    Eric

    August 2, 2007 at 9:14 pm

  2. The story is so sad. Yes, Eric, Spaghetti Junction is scary especially seeing all the marks on the sides!

    Carmen

    August 3, 2007 at 5:33 pm

  3. An expert on the Today Show shared that pre-WWII bridges are really safer. It’s the newer bridges built post 1950 that were designed to be sleek and space-agy – and don’t have the built in redundancy that’s needed.

    The decay in our country’s infrastructure is horrifying. If only $$$ were spent here rather than in Iraq. We’ve got to do something to change the status quo.

    Ru's Mom

    August 3, 2007 at 6:26 pm

  4. Eric, former friends of mine would jump off Brown’s Bridge for fun.

    PS – There’s a reason they are former friends 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    August 3, 2007 at 6:32 pm

  5. Iraq: Yeah…

    Simba

    August 3, 2007 at 9:56 pm

  6. Check out the Saturday morning edition of AJC. There is an article about some of the unsafe bridges around the metro area. Like (2) on Concord Road, (1) on South Cobb, and a whole bunch in Fulton!

    Eric

    August 4, 2007 at 5:56 am

  7. Thank you for the height of the Tallassee bridge. I had looked and looked, trying to find out how high it is. We drive across it several times a month on our round-about way from Auburn to the zoo in Montgomery. Now we’re torn between scenic and (maybe) unsafe. Age may work in its favor since the older bridges were bolted rather than welded.

    Lee

    August 4, 2007 at 11:27 am


Leave a Reply

