blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Your Thoughts?

with 16 comments

I have no idea what led me to this line of thinking this evening, but here’s where I wound up… what would I do if, say tomorrow, I woke up, and there had either been a terrorist attack or natural disaster on such an unprecedented scale that all power was out globally and indefinitely.

How would food get to market? How would banking get done? Work? Travel? (Since gas has to be pumped, it might be available, but very hard to access.) Healthcare? And on and on and on. And then imagine the ripple effects… lost jobs, manufacturing grinds to a halt, no money, little to no essential goverment services/protection.

So put yourself in that frightening scenario and tell me what you think you’d do. Would you want to fight to keep going? How would you even begin to do that? Would you want to give up and commit suicide? What if you have family members who might need you to hang around, would you still commit suicide?

What do you think the country would look like, say, in 5 to 10 years after such an event? What would the world be like?

In the process of this line of thinking, I was considering survivalist literature (not the militia-type ideologies, but their methods for surviving through/in anarchy), and the Foxfire books (more my style). Do I have enough of my farmer ancestry in me to pull off that kind of living off the land in a totally self-reliant way? I could probably do it within a community, but even then, I’m not sure.

And my answer to my own earlier question is this: if something like this happened, and if my parents were still alive, I’d probably make it home, and decide with them what we needed to do. I’d have a better chance of survival there anyway, being that it’s rural, enough land to grow vegetables, people around who know how to can/pickle/preserve food, and has a creek running through it. If my parents weren’t alive, but if I owned that land. I’d go home and give it a shot to try to make it. If it didn’t work, I’d commit suicide. If my parents weren’t alive, and if I only had the city to live in, I’d commit suicide. Not only because I wouldn’t want to slowly starve to death, but I wouldn’t want to witness the carnage that would be wrought by seeing 300 million people–most of whom know nothing about survival–trying to live with limited resources. I think all vestiges of humanity would be stripped down to our beastly, selfish natures, and I couldn’t bear to participate in it nor observe it.

I know that civilization has existed (and in some places in the world, still exists) without electricity/power, but our country is SOOO dependent on it for practically every aspect of our culture, I don’t know that we could survive the transition long enough to make it back to a place where we could start at square one again.

I know, I know… dark thoughts for a Sunday night. But NOT thinking about this kind of stuff doesn’t mean that won’t happen, no more than thinking about it means that it will.

Your thoughts?

Written by blogicalinks

July 29, 2007 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Seeking, Whatever

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a topic! In that type of situation, I think I’d be a fighter. First things first, I would get my hubby and my dogs and hightail it out of the city. We would need to go somewhere rural to start living off of the land instead of fighting over the last bits of resources in the city. I would find a way to get my family and Luis’ family together so that we can live communally and hopefully that’s the best chance we would have to survive. I don’t know what else we would do. That’s as far as my brain will let me go with these deep thoughts on a Sunday night.

    Carmen

    July 29, 2007 at 10:18 pm

  2. Y’all can squat here. Bring your tent πŸ™‚

    Ru's Mom

    July 30, 2007 at 2:35 am

  3. I’d take Ty and Simba and go to the lake and live with my parents. They know how to farm, fish, hunt, and cook on a fire. And I’d take Eric because he’s MacGyvver. πŸ™‚

    Cheryl, I think it’s time to start on some antidepressants. What in the world have you been reading or watching on TV??

    Simba

    July 30, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  4. Cheryl, to answer more of your questions… I don’t think purchasing will ever be an issue for the first few years, or decades. I think everything will go back to primitive ways and we’ll literally have to fight for everything we want. When we find our plot of land, we’ll have to defend it at all times since I think most people will be going crazy.

    Looks like we’ll be living on Laura’s land. Not that I think this will ever happen, but thank you, Laura! πŸ™‚

    I don’t even want to think of my pets as a drain on my resources. They are my children and I’d find a way to keep them around. Bruno is useful for protection and defending the land so that way he earn his keep. Bella will act as entertainment. That will be my reasoning to keep her around. πŸ™‚

    Carmen

    July 30, 2007 at 1:08 pm

  5. When the world blacks out and you’re stuck with all those books and reading glasses, you could use the glasses to spark a fire from the sunlight and burn those books for fuel or warmth.

    Just making sure you’re prepared! πŸ˜‰

    Carmen

    July 30, 2007 at 3:04 pm

  6. Have you read The Road by Cormac McCarthy?? Perhaps someone’s mention of this book is what sparked this train of thought? Either way, if you have not read it, go out and read it immediately…do not pass go, go straight to the bookstore or library and get it. If you have these sorts of questions, this is the book to read; it will make you think even longer and harder about the topic. And you know you and i think alike in this regard…give the terrible things at least a cursory glance to plan ahead and have a little something mapped out ahead of time so these things don’t jump up to bite you in the butt, right? πŸ™‚ Reading that book will help you do just that…you won’t stop thinking about it for a long time, in a good way i think. And that, madame, is my two cents. As for me and what i’d do? I’m still working out my plan as it would be dependent upon what actually is going on around me. But I’ve got a few plans waiting in the wings like a good Girl Scout πŸ˜‰

    wenzday

    July 30, 2007 at 10:34 pm

  7. Thanks for the “MacGyver” comment! My family was without power for almost a week after Hurricane Andrew. It was an interesting adventure. No TV, but radio (on batteries), so you could have a little entertainment and keep up with the news. No gas (no power to run the underground pumps) available. No drinking water in the tap (again, no power to run pumps). Fortunately, the grills worked and the deck of cards didn’t need power.

    It’s a little sad to think about how dependant we have become on a particular commodity. I think, for me personally, if I had a source of raw food and water, I think I’d be okay. I still have a hand saw, hand drill, and plenty of non-powered tools.

    And I’ve got my deck of cards.

    Eric

    July 31, 2007 at 5:38 am

  8. That sounds like the big ice storm we had in 1973. We had no power for about a week and other parts of Georgia were out of power much longer than that. We blocked off all but two rooms of the house, built a fire, and slept there in front of it in our sleeping bags. We cooked our food over the fire too. My dad was a good Boy Scout. I can’t really remember what we did for entertainment, but I’m sure it involved a deck of cards. πŸ™‚

    Simba

    July 31, 2007 at 9:09 am

  9. For years I kept the mountain place stocked with gallons of water and canned stuff to eat. There’s a big wood stove for heat and warming stuff up. I also have a couple of oil lanterns and plenty of candles. Maybe it’s time to restock. Hmmmm….

    Ru's Mom

    July 31, 2007 at 12:18 pm

  10. I think you could shoot holes in all of the plans, but to me, I’d rather give it a shot anyway than just commit suicide because somebody might come fish in my lake. If the situation REALLY got bad, I think things would turn a little frontier on us. People would battle for their land and hunting/fishing rights and all of that. It would be a big mess at that point and I’d probably go defend my land and food the best I can. I don’t think I’d shoot somebody that was fishing in my lake, but if I’m hungry I might fight somebody over some of those nasty tasting bass that I can’t stand to eat anyway. Or squirrel. Yuck… Oh, I need to post that movie about Squirrel Melts. LOL!!! You can get some recipe ideas!!

    Simba

    July 31, 2007 at 8:40 pm

  11. I think you would really see the laws of evolution come into play – “survival of the fittest.” People who were strong and smart and resourceful and hard workers, etc. would survive. The others would not.

    As for friends, they could come if they want, but I’d hand them a rake and say either help out or go somewhere else. A small amount of land would grow a lot of food. We’d either figure it out or we’d all die together.

    Simba

    July 31, 2007 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

