blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Blowin’ Off Some Steam

with 4 comments

Here’s something that has just irritated the dickens out of me recently. It has to do with two specific cases here in Georgia of mothers being charged with neglect when something terrible happened to their kids. The first was a mother who was doing meth and let her five-year-old Down’s Syndrome daughter leave the house unattended. The little girl wandered into a neighbor’s yard and got too close to a chained rottweilerl, who mauled her to death. The second concerns a woman who is being charged with neglect while she was gone and two of her kids were burned badly after their trailer caught fire.

Now from what little I know of these stories (I only know what I’ve ready online), neither of these women were up for Mother of the Year awards. Both absolutely deserve to be charged if what we’ve been told is correct. HOWEVER, why is it that only the mothers are being charged? Where are the men/fathers in this situation? If they are living with the woman, why are they not as culpable for the neglect? If they are not living with them, is it because they are not accepting responsibility for their own children? Of course, those are situations that I am not privy to the details, but it seems to me that since women are expected to be the “caretakers” (and I use that word loosely with these women), they also end up being the ONLY ones held responsible when something goes wrong.

If I was a father who actually CARED about my children, I wouldn’t leave them with a mother who was a meth user in the first place! I would want to know if their mother was leaving them unattended for long periods of time! Is there no accountability for the men involved in the production of these offspring?!

And on a different note: I’d love to see Michael Vick thrown into a hole with a bunch of hungry pit bulls. My money would be on the dogs.

Written by blogicalinks

July 17, 2007 at 6:41 pm

Posted in Venting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was going to post it on my blog, but I’ll comment on yours instead. In a story I read, the dad said that they shouldn’t hold her past against her – well, her PAST was a few HOURS earlier when she was doing meth! That doesn’t sound like past to me!!!

    Here is the story.

    Dianne

    July 17, 2007 at 7:19 pm

  2. Does your blog not take html? This is the story:

    http://www.wsbtv.com/news/13691266/detail.html

    Dianne

    July 17, 2007 at 7:19 pm

  3. Agree on the fathers.
    Agree regarding Vick.
    Although don’t starve all the pit bulls first like he did. I don’t think it should be a fast demise.

    Ru's Mom

    July 18, 2007 at 8:59 am

  4. Great point. Unless the fathers have no custody rights or have no idea the child exists, then they should be charged as well. Those poor babies. :,(

    Vick should be starved, poked at, put in a ring to fight and then get electrocuted to death so that he can feel what it was like to be one of his dogs. I’m so glad they will be prosecuting him.

    Carmen

    July 18, 2007 at 4:11 pm


Leave a Reply

