blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Remembering the Perfect Moment

with 7 comments

This afternoon, I was driving home, and a song came on that reminded me of the song “Comfortably Numb” by Pink Floyd. Immediately, a memory came back to me… a moment that I’ve often thought of as one of the times I was absolutely and perfectly content.

It was back when I was about 35 years old. I was on the lake with friends for the weekend. It was the time of day when the tree frogs and cicadas were starting their rhythmic chants, the heat of the day was lifting, and the motors of boats hummed in the distance as they made their way across the lake.

The water was as smooth as glass, the smell of something barbequing on the grill up at the house was wafting down to me. I could hear my friends inside—little more than distant chatter, indistinguishable conversation, really—but it was the sound of friendship and the promise of a relaxing evening, just sitting around talking.

I was reclining in a large inner tube, practically in a half-sleep, half-awake awareness. I’d been out in the sun most of the day, so the shade of the trees felt good on my skin, and the water was the perfect temperature… warm enough not to be shocking, but cool enough to be refreshing. As I lay back with my eyes closed and my fingertips skimming the top of the water, the song that came on the radio was “Comfortably Numb.” (I have no idea what the song before or after was.) While the song is really about using drugs just to get through something you have to do, it doesn’t stick in my mind for its lyrics, it just seemed the perfect ambient sound for that relaxing moment…. that painfully slow pace it takes, like trying to run through syrup in a dream. It just fit perfectly with how I felt.

For that few minutes, I was aware of every single sense and how they came together in a few moments when I was so perfectly content with everything in my life, it felt utterly sublime. I’ve had moments when I looked back and thought “Hey, that was a nice time.” And I’ve had times when I’ve looked forward to something being great. But that was one special time when right in the middle of the perfection, I was blissfully self-aware of how wonderful life can be… even in (maybe, especially in) simple moments like that.

Ever had a time like that? I’d love to hear about it.

Written by blogicalinks

July 16, 2007 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool post. I’ll think about it and I’ll let you know if I’ve had a “comfortably numb” moment. 🙂

    Dianne

    July 16, 2007 at 8:11 pm

  2. I don’t have one particular moment of time that stands out alone like yours, but I have a song that brings back the same sort of numbing sublime memories.

    http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?playlistId=4834948&s=143441&i=4834932

    Whenever Luis and I hear Born Slippy, we both zone out for several minutes and then talk about how perfect everything was back when we were falling love and enjoying college life. The song was one of many good ones on the Trainspotting movie soundtrack which came out when we were friends and starting dating.

    Carmen

    July 16, 2007 at 9:11 pm

  3. Really great post, btw!!!

    Carmen

    July 16, 2007 at 9:17 pm

  4. Not one moment in particular, but more of a collage of images centered around friends relaxed at the cabin, laughing, eating good food, being comfortable with one another, surrounded by happy dogs and just enjoying the peacefulness of the setting and the gift of companionship.

    That time used to seem light years away but I got a glimpse of it again this past weekend. It feels like new versions of that may be just out of today’s reach. Time to “trust the journey” for a little while longer. The soundtrack? A mix of everyone’s favorites. Mine is Nancy Lamott’s “Come Rain or Come Shine” – her Moon River in particular.

    Ru's Mom

    July 16, 2007 at 9:22 pm

  5. The blog is back open. Sorry.
    Just remembered another perfect moment.
    The Sound of Music sing-along. 🙂
    The most fun I’ve ever had in public!

    Ru's Mom

    July 18, 2007 at 9:01 am


Leave a Reply

