blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Visiting Friends and Cutting Grass

with 2 comments

My friend, Holly, visited this weekend from B’ham. We went to the aquarium on Saturday. It was Holly’s first time to visit there, and she seemed to enjoy it, but it was SO crowded. I’m glad I’d bought tickets in advance! We also had lunch at a place called Sweet Tomatoes. It was an all-you-can-eat salad bar, with green salad stuff and with pasta salads, soups and such. It was all really fresh and tasty. I think I’ll eat there often. Oh, and they have a Sunday breakfast bar too. Can’t wait to sample that!

Other than that, we watched TV and talked. It was good to spend time with her again… another friend I miss a lot.

After more than a year of not having to cut grass, today, I cut my yard for the first time. I have to say that while I was hot and had to stop a couple of times, it felt good to do something so physical that results in such instant gratification. The smell of freshly-cut grass is one of my favorite, and the look of a well-shorn yard is a thing of beauty too.

The grass had really snapped back to life after the last two rain showers we had. It’s amazing how you think it’s gone, because it’s so brown, and then suddenly, it’s three inches higher and needs cutting!!

And I was SO pleased with my trusty old lawnmower. I’ve had it for 13 years now, and it has never, ever failed to start on the first or second pull. It’s been in storage without gas and oil for over a year, and wouldn’t you know it, it started on the second pull! I was so proud. 🙂

Aaah, life’s simple pleasures.

Written by blogicalinks

July 1, 2007 at 8:02 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yum, I miss Sweet Tomatoes. I used to go there all the time when we lived in Gwinnett. That’s a good lawn mower!!!

    Carmen

    July 1, 2007 at 10:01 pm

  2. That’s a pretty impressive lawn mower! What is it?

    Dianne

    July 2, 2007 at 1:49 pm


Leave a Reply

