blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Better and Better

leave a comment »

Update on the house situation:
The disappointing news… closing was postponed from Monday until Wednesday because of a situation regarding the appraisal. I was bummed about that because I’d already scheduled to take the day off on Monday. I’m really ready for this to be over with!
The good news… I had written into the contract that the appraisal had to be at least as much as the selling price. Because there have been few recent sells in the neighborhood, the appraiser couldn’t find good comps. So finally, they came up with an appraisal price of $213,000… over $10,000 less than I was paying!! So the seller agreed to make that the selling price. Yay!

I’m not pleased that the house isn’t valued higher, but as one friend pointed out, it’s good when you are living there that the value is less, because the taxes on it will be less. You want the value to go up only when you’re ready to move!

In any case, I’m getting the perfect house for $10,500 less than I was going to pay, and that’s good!! And the update on the inspection… while there were only little things that needed to be changed, they agreed to take care of all of them! Again, yay!

I’ve already scheduled all of my utilities to be turned on, and I’m moving next Sunday. I wanted Saturday, but they were all booked up. I would like to take some time off around then, but I really don’t want to be so “in debt” on days off so early into my employment. At least by moving on Sunday, it will give me Saturday to finish up my end of the packing. I’m so grateful that I don’t have large appliances to move (nor buy!), because that really cuts down on move time. And at $180/hour, I want them to go as fast as they can!

Other than the move and work, there’s not a lot going on. Been hanging out with some fun friends for dinner, but that’s about it. So until my attention gets back on national/world events of interests, my updates will just be about me!!

Written by blogicalinks

June 2, 2007 at 10:14 am

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

Leave a Reply

