blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

My Memory

with 2 comments

Just a thought or two about the ways I’m observing my memory changing as I get older. Some of it encouraging, some ot if not.

I’ve given it some thought, although I’ve not really seen anything written about it, so I don’t know if I’m scientifically on target with this. What I’ve observed about my own memory recall is that it falls into one of two categories: retrieval or recognition.

For example, if someone asks me what an actor’s name is, or who in history was responsible for so and so, IF I know the answer, I can answer accurately in one of those two ways. Sometimes, I can retrieve the name without much hesitation…sometimes, I know I know it, but can’t think of it immediately, but it usually comes forth. Other times, I have to see the name (like a multiple choice), but can usually recognize it as being the right answer.

So, I feel that my “retrieval” memory isn’t what it used to be, but my “recogition” memory seems as strong as ever. I hope it stays that way! 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

May 26, 2007 at 1:57 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL! I find myself saying, “Oh yeah…that’s right.” a little too often now. 🙂

    Simba

    May 26, 2007 at 4:56 pm

  2. My memory has always been very selective. I’m not going to be much fun when my memory really starts to fail me.

    Carmen

    June 25, 2007 at 9:39 pm


Leave a Reply

