blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Well, pooh…

with one comment

Sorry for the harsh language, but it fits my mood. 🙂

A little catching up to do first, to set the scene for my latest “big news.” I mentioned last week that I was not feeling very well, kinda run down. Well, by Monday, I was really starting to struggle with being able to make it through the day. I went to the rest room and when I saw my eyes in the mirror, I thought “Wow! I look sick!” And I was.

The inspection for the house was on Monday afternoon, so I’d gone into work early and worked through lunch so that I could leave early. As I drove to the house for the inspection, I started feeling really feverish and was coughing like a mad woman. When I got there, the house was stuffy from having been shut up, and had that musty smell that I don’t like when I’m feeling good, much less how I was feeling that day.

Anyway, I stayed for about an 1.5 hours, about halfway through the inspection, and then I just couldn’t take it anymore. I had to leave the inspection, and traffic was terrible, so it took me about an hour and a half to get home. I took some medicine and went straight to bed (about 8:00). Unfortunately, I probably slept no more than 30 minutes at a time. I kept waking up from a dead sleep with coughing fits! It was a miserable night.

Tuesday morning, I still felt bad, feverish, and of course, suffering from lack of sleep. I called my supervisor and left a message saying that I felt too bad to come in AND I was afraid with the fever, that I might be contagious. I HATED missing my seventh day of work! Of course, I had to take it without pay too, since I haven’t been there long enough to build up any sick time. Fortunately, it was during a relatively slow time, so I don’t think it was a big deal to them. I still felt bad about it.

The rest of the week has seen me getting progressively better, though still very congested in my head and chest. It’s just not dominating my life now! 🙂

And now, to the “pooh” part of the news: After reading the inspection report, I was concerned about the erosion in the creek at the back of the property. I had been concerned before, but after seeing the inspector’s concern and photos in places I could not access, I was even more concerned! There were other issues about the house—improper ventilation in the kitchen; water heater safety device not up to code; gutters needing flashing to prevent spilling into wood; etc. These were all relatively minor things. There were other things that I did not even expect the seller to take care of—the double-paned windows that had condensation in them (4); broken garage door mechanism; a rotten support beam on the deck; etc. I thought I did really well at meeting them halfway on most of the items, or not even asking them to take care of it at all.

However, the one thing I did not want to “inherit” was a known erosion issue. My realtor wrote to the owners and asked them about their experience with the erosion. Their response was that during the six years they were there, they’d had to have two trees cut down because they were pulling on the embankment. I’ve seen those trees (they left them in the creek in pieces), and they were huge pines! Now my thoughts went several ways with that information: 1) One of the things I liked so much was the trees in the landscape. If you start taking away the trees, you’re creating one problem to deal with another problem; 2) Two trees in six years sounds like pretty bad erosion to me; and 3) cutting down large trees is expensive! Even if I was willing to take on that issue and was wiling to cut trees, it’s money right off the bat!

So, in accordance with the recommendation of the inspector, I asked the sellers to hire a geotechnical engineer to determine the stability of the land by the creek and to recommend ways to fix it. And I asked the sellers to do what it takes to fix it. They refused.
They offered $750 total for everything. I said (basically) HA! And thus, the contract has been terminated.

I’ve already spent over $500 on inspections for the house, and I’m glad I did, because it’s better to know than not know. But it still FEELS like money out the window.

I know that it’s all for the best, but I’d really already pictured myself there…on the deck, building a fence for the dogs, enjoying the fireplace. And I really liked the area, too. I’m sure something else will come up eventually, it’s just disappointing right now. And I was having to deal with it all right in the middle of feeling like crap!

Oh well, at least I haven’t bought a money pit. That would be worthy of a MUCH bigger pooh! 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

April 28, 2007 at 10:32 am

Posted in Sharing, Venting, Whatever

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well, i’m sorry, cheryl. house wasn’t mean to be. phooey.

    it’s a buyer’s market, though, they say. i’d like to see those seller’s unload that house in this market with all those problems. dang.

    did you know tara had a baby girl?

    miss you!

    Lynnard

    May 11, 2007 at 5:27 pm


Leave a Reply

