blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

I’ve Made an Offer!

with 4 comments

I’ve sent a contract to my realtor for her to send to the sellers. We’ll see what happens!

If you’re interested in some pics of the property, you can see them here.

Some other details: It’s 4 BR / 3 BA; built in 1986, almost 3/4 acre lot with a creek within the back part of the property. It’s got huge decks on the back (my favorite part), and it doesn’t have a formal living room. For me, that’s a good thing because a formal living room is a waste of floor space to me. I had one in my B’ham house, and it was basically a good place to sit and talk with insurance salemen and to walk through on the way back to the family room where I really lived. This house has a very large family room and it joins the dining room space (no doors between them), and I like that.

It’s got a medium-sized kitchen, but with a lot of counter space and a nice-sized pantry. They’re leaving the fridge, which is nice, but I’ll probably get another one eventually since this one is older.

It’s got a large master bedroom, and two window seats that meet in the corner—a nice little reading nook or cat observatory…probably the latter. The two other bedrooms on the main level are pretty large as well. Both are at least as big as my main bedroom in B’ham.

Downstairs is another smaller family room with a wood-burning fireplace (as opposed to the gas-burning one in the main family room). And off of that is another large bedroom with its own full bath. This is most likely where I’ll have my office set up for now.

You might wonder why I need a house this large. Well, I don’t right now, but I do have enough furniture and STUFF for a 3BR anyway. And honestly, I’ve been thinking of Mama and Daddy in all of this too. As much as I’m sure we all hope this won’t happen, they might need to come and live with me in the next few years. The downstairs of this house is basically an inlaw suite…its own entrance, bedroom, family room, and deck. There’s really even enough room to build a tiny little kitchen if necessary. So, I’m trying to think ahead in that regard. (That just reminded me—Parsons offers an insurance policy that covers elderly care. I’m going to check into that! What a great idea!)

Anyway, I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but I’m pretty pumped about the possibility. As I’m learning over and over, there’s no need to stress out too much about things that are out of my control. I just do the best I can, and if it happens, it happens. If it doesn’t, I guess it wasn’t meant to be, and I’ll just keeping looking for where I belong.

Written by blogicalinks

April 11, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Sharing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, a formal living room can be VERY useful! I had a ping pong table in mine for quite some time and then I got some furniture, including a very nice wire dog crate! It looks great in there with my couch and coffee table and provides Simba a great view of the formal dining room. I am careful to make sure she wears her dress collar when we have nice meals. Never under estimate the value of a formal dining room!

    It’s a nice looking house, but way too far away. I’ll have to pack a lunch to get over there.

    Very cool about the eldercare insurance. It’s sweet of you to think about your parents in your decision.

    Simba

    April 11, 2007 at 7:03 pm

  2. Oh yeah, I forgot about that great use of the room! It also makes a good room for jam sessions and for teaching guitar lessons. I also like to read in there when my eyes are cooperating with the book. You know, for all the use that room actually gets, you’d figure I could remember to water the plant in there once in a while.

    Simba

    April 11, 2007 at 10:45 pm

  3. shit, that’s a big house.

    Lynnard

    April 18, 2007 at 9:59 pm


Leave a Reply

