blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

What Would You Do?—Part 2

with 7 comments

A couple of you gave me good advice on the job situation, and I appreciate your input. Fortunately, things worked out very well. I got the job I wanted, and the one I never felt right about never made an offer anyway! 🙂

So now the issue is about a place to live. So come along… explore the possibilities with me.

I know the price range I want to stay within in order not to overextend myself, especially as I have a three-month probationary period at Parsons. God forbid, if something happened and they didn’t want to keep me, then I’d be stuck with a house that I couldn’t afford! So, that being said, what I’m finding is that in the area within 10 miles around Norcross (where I’ll be working), what I can afford will get me a 3- or 4-bedroom house, around 2,000 square feet, and .25–.5 acres. And another thing I’m finding is that I can get a 10–15 year old house with small lots, few trees, and generally in smaller subdivisions with amenities like a pool and/or tennis. OR a 25–30 year old house with larger lots, more trees, larger SDs and sometimes with amenities.

Of course, the choice there is between a newer home with possibly with less maintenance and more energy efficiency, and the older homes, which will need more upkeep and is less efficient.

So, there are two houses that I’ve found that I think I really like (at least in just looking at online photos and having seen the neighborhoods).

One is in Duluth, a little over 1,900 sq. ft., built in 1985, has tennis courts, and they’re asking 229,000. However, it’s only about five miles from where I’ll be working.

The other is in Roswell, is over 2,100 sq. ft., and built in 1979. It’s part of a large complex of several subdivisions, so there are three different pool locations, three tennis locations, and is centered around a 55-acre lake with a walking trail. It is also very near the Chattahoochee River and a couple of its riverside parks and biking trails. They’re asking 249,000. It’s about eight miles from where I’ll be working.

The Roswell location is about four miles closer to where I am now, which would mean closer to Sherrie and Dianne, so that’s nice. The Duluth location is not close to anyone I know, but close to work. They are both close to major arteries (GA 400 and Peachtree Industrial) that feed into the perimeter, so that’s good.

So while I’m leaning heavily toward the Roswell location, the downsides are its distance from work (which is not terrible, but it’s like traveling on eight miles of Hwy. 280 in B’ham, so the TIME is the real factor here, not the actual distance), and the $20,000 price difference for an older house!

What I’m trying to weigh in my mind are the value of the amenities vs the travel time to work. If I can save an hour a day in traffic by being closer to work, that’s five hours a week to be at home. However, is it more important to have the extra time without many amenities to enjoy, or to have the cool amenities but less time to enjoy them?

In a nutshell, pros and cons:
Roswell
Pros:
closer to my friends
more square footage
screened porch (I love them. 🙂
fenced yard (for the dogs)
tennis, lake, hiking, biking, parks on river, pools
established neighborhood with good HOA

Cons:
further from work
older house
smaller lot
$20,000 higher
frame construction (would need regular painting)

Duluth
Pros:
closer to work
tennis
newer home
larger lot
$20,000 less
established neighborhood
concrete siding (low maintenance)

Cons:
further from friends
less square footage
would have to build fence
septic tank instead of sewer

So…without counting the NUMBER of pros and cons, but considering what they’d mean to you (yes, I want your opinion of what’s important about these to you, despite my categorizations as pros and cons), what do you think you’d do?

Written by blogicalinks

April 6, 2007 at 12:58 am

Posted in Seeking, Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you should move into MY neighborhood!!

    OK, that aside… Here is another thought before you move – what if you wait until the probationary period is over before you make a decision? That way if you hate the job or they don’t realize the value in you, you will not be in an area way away from your friends and possibly your next job?

    Adn then if that’s not an option – In the long run, $20K will not make a huge difference, so I’ll get the house and yard you like.

    The “tennis, lake, hiking, biking, parks on river, pools” is appealing to me. And so is that screened porch and the more square footage. The older home part is not as appealing to me, but you’ve told me often that you like older homes.

    As for distance from work – investigate the area and see if there are some good backroads that you don’t know about yet.

    I don’t know a lot about them, but a septic tank sounds like it could be problematic. I hear about people having to fix those when they get older. But like I said – I know VERY little about septic tanks vs. sewers.

    A HOA is usually a good thing. Keeps the quality of the ‘hood up. As for frame vs. siding – if you like the Roswell house and it’s in need of painting now, get that done before you buy it and then next time it needs it, plan to put siding on it instead of paint. It will be several years in the future so you’ll have time to plan for it.

    I guess from my assessment of your pros and cons, it sounds like I’d lean toward the Roswell house. But, I still think you should just move into my neighborhood. There are plenty of houses for sale here. 🙂 We could play guitars, eat out, walk on the trail, eat out, bike, eat out, watch movies, eat in, eat out… OK, that’s it for my biased opinion! 🙂

    Simba

    April 6, 2007 at 9:04 am

  2. I would test out the drive several mornings if you could. Decide if you could deal with that every day. If so, get the house you like.

    Or keep looking for some other options as well.

    mm

    April 8, 2007 at 1:20 pm

  3. There is no 30 minute drive in Atlanta. 🙂

    Dianne

    April 9, 2007 at 10:07 am

  4. Did you pray?

    Bryan Riley

    April 15, 2007 at 9:06 am


Leave a Reply

