blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

More Thoughts About the New Job

with 3 comments

I know, I know. I don’t write for weeks, and then my last three posts are about my new job. All I can say is… give me a break!!! This job search has been consuming my life for almost two months. And now that I actually have a job to write about… I’m gonna write about it! (Just wait until I finally find a house! 🙂

So anyway, I decided to list some pros and cons of working for someone else vs. working for myself.

Working for myself:
Pros: (in order of “cool”)
– flexible schedule
– no commute
– working in sweats and tees
– I decide what I want to work on (or not)

Cons: (in order of “uncool”)
– unsteady income
– have to try to get more work while still taking care of the work at hand 😛
– you’re responsible for EVERYTHING (bookkeeping, meeting with clients, your own insurance, etc.)
– no co-workers to talk to
– easy to be undisciplined

Working for others:
(basically, switch the pros and cons of working for self 🙂
– two cons of working for Parsons: having to use a PC instead of a Mac, and it’s business formal… not even casual Fridays! Yikes!! I have to buy some clothes soon!!!

I skimmed through the Parsons benefits brochure I received from the HR person today. They offer a really nice package:
– of course, the usual options for medical, dental, and vision, using network doctors or not;
– 100% paid life insurance;
– 100% paid short-term disability;
– 401k program with 50% matching
– ESOP (Employee Stock Offerings Program) Since Parsons is 100% employee-owned, they treat and distribute their profits as they would stocks for a public company. The guy I had the third interview with said that for 2006, everyone got 30% of their salary, because they’d had such a good year! Of course, it takes six years to be 100% vested, but that’s only fair.
– Wellness Program: I really think I’ll like and benefit from this program. If you have a health assessment and stay in their wellness program, you can deduct $15/month from your part of the medical insurance plan. So it’s a physical and financial help.
– Domestic Partner Benefits: Of course, this isn’t relevant to me right now, but it’s nice to know it’s there for later on if needed.
– Three Weeks Paid Vacation right off the bat, plus holidays

I think there might be more, but I can’t remember what they are. But like I said, it seems like a very complete and generous package. I’m really excited about starting, although it feels like April 16 is rushing at me at lightning speed!

Anyway, once things have settled, I’ll try to find other topics to write about. Until then, prepare to hear more about the job and the house hunt. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

April 4, 2007 at 11:16 pm

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, it’s YOUR blog, you should write about what’s going through your head. 🙂 I like knowing what you are thinking about anyway.

    The benefits package sounds great! The dress code would kill me though. Whoa… 😦

    Simba

    April 5, 2007 at 12:19 pm

  2. dang. i leave your blog for a few months and look at what happens. i know the uncertainly was stressful and i’m so glad you now have certainty with the job and a great home lead. i can’t wait to see your new place. are you going to take the dogs back from your parents now, or leave them settled into their new digs? here’s to your fabulous new life. you go, girl.

    Lynnard

    April 18, 2007 at 9:54 pm


Leave a Reply

