blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

The New Chapter Begins

with 3 comments

Well, finally! 364 days after leaving my last employer, I’ve accepted a job with another employer!!

The HR person called today and made an offer that I was grateful for and happy to accept. It offers a great salary (much more than I was making in B’hamm and, unlike freelancing, it’s steady) and benefits!

I can’t say too much about it right now, because it’s a situation where the person in that position does not know they’re about to get canned. I made sure in my initial interview to find out if this person had been given opportunities to change this course of action. I was assured that they had been given chance after chance to improve their performance, even having a “mentor-type” relationship to try to meet goals, all to no avail. While I hate for anyone to lose their job, if they can’t (or won’t) improve their performance, the business has to do what it takes to rectify the situation. So until I know that that person has absolutely no chance of discovering that I’m taking their position, I won’t put my new employer’s name out there for public knowledge.

In the meantime, I’ve got a lot of freelance to catch up on and some visiting in B’ham I’d like to do. I’m supposed to start on April 16, so that’s quite a bit to crank out.

The next chapter of my journey will be the ramped-up search for a house. Now that I know where I’ll be working, I can start to visit the neighborhoods and get a feel for the area and the traffic.

Anyway, just wanted to share that at least the huge stressor of the job search is over! ๐Ÿ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

April 2, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll bet that other designer is not reading your blog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m glad the employer canned the person that was not doing a good job. Be glad that we don’t have the rules here that they have in France where you can’t fire people. Imagine what it would do to the economy in the US if you could not fire the people who are not doing their jobs. Hey, it would end up with the private sector being run just like the GOVERNMENT! You know how well THAT functions… (@@)

    Anyway, I’m glad you got the job and glad that some of the stress is over. Maybe Norcross won’t be so far away. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll miss your flexible schedule. You’re a good friend and I’ve enjoyed having you so close by.

    Simba

    April 3, 2007 at 11:32 am

  2. LOL! I forgot this was signing everything “Simba.” ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh well, Simba loves you too!!

    Dianne

    Simba

    April 3, 2007 at 6:26 pm


Leave a Reply

