blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

What Would You Do?

with 4 comments

I really would like for any of you who read this to tell me what you think YOU would do in a similar situation.

Here’s the situation as it exists for me right now:
I need to get out of the place I’m living right now. Fortunately, the tension is manageable, and sometimes, for me, even non-existent. However, the fact is that I have an expectation hanging over me that I will be out of the house within a couple of months at least.

I need to find/buy a place of my own. I thought briefly about renting for a while, but then dismissed it for three reasons… 1) I don’t want to have to move to an apartment and then move AGAIN when I get a house. That’s just way too much moving for me! 2) Not too many places would allow three cats, and I don’t want to be dishonest and pretend I only have one. 3) Like I said, where I’m living now is okay, and as long as it’s tolerable, renting is not an attractive option.

Where to look for a house? Well, I really want to stay in an area where I’ve already learned my way around pretty well, and where I have some friends close by. So that pretty much means the west and northwest side of the city. However, I also don’t want to buy a place and THEN find a job that is on the totally opposite side of the perimeter; thereby creating a commuting nightmare!

About the jobs: I’ve already had two interviews and an assessment test with one place, but no job offer. It’s in Norcross, which is further to the northeast side than I’d really like to go, but I’m finding that several of the jobs are in the north and northeast, so I might have to just accept that.

Of course, there’s been no job offer, yet, but if there is, do I take a job that I’m not really sure about and in an area that is not my first choice JUST to be able to finally say, “Okay, here’s where I’m working, and now, I can find a house.”? Or do I pass it up and keep looking for jobs more in line with what I REALLY want?

It’s hard to know what to do. What do y’all think? Take the first thing that comes along as long as the salary is right, or pass it up and hope for something better…knowing that that might be a long time coming?

Written by blogicalinks

March 19, 2007 at 11:56 pm

Posted in Seeking, Sharing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My inclination is to tell you to wait on a job that you really want because if you don’t like the job, you’ll be miserable in all kinds of ways. If you’re going to be spending 40+ hrs a week somewhere, you need to like more than just the paycheck.

    Dianne

    March 20, 2007 at 11:33 am

  2. I would try to learn more about the job you’re not sure about, to get a better feel for it if you can.

    If you’re still not sure about it, and might have some other possibilities in the works, I would wait.

    mm

    March 20, 2007 at 9:15 pm


Leave a Reply

