blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Where is God?

with one comment

I’m having a night of disturbing thoughts. I’ve wondered these things for a long, long time, but sometimes, these questions bother me more than at other times. This is one of those nights.

Why does God allow innocents to suffer? And before you say “none are innocent,” you know what I mean. The innocents who don’t deserve the suffering the receive. Children who are beaten to death by boyfriends of crack moms; old people who get butchered by home invaders who steal $75 and their medication; animals who are tortured for fun by sadists; and on and on and on.

Sure, we are supposed to relieve suffering as much as possible when we know about it. It’s the suffering we don’t know about and may never know about that bothers me most. Why does God not intervene miraculously to save/spare those innocents? Why?! I don’t get it! If I, as a decent human being, would help if I was aware of it and if I had the power to stop it, then why doesn’t God, who’s supposed to be omniscient and omnipotent? How does He justify that? Does free will (which Calvinists would even say is non-existent, so they REALLY have some explaining to do on this one) trump the basic desire of a supposedly compassionate Being to spare innocents of pain and suffering? And when I say suffering, I mean suffering from the cruel acts of others, not suffering that comes from nature and illness and accidents.

Where is God in those dark places where babies cry from pain and no one hears them but their tormentor? Where is God when animals are left chained to trees and allowed to slowly starve to death? Where is God when the elderly are left to languish in their own feces and suffer the horrible infections of their bed sores?

I don’t get a God like that. And in these moments, unless someone can come up with a REALLY good, plausible explanation of why this kind of stuff is allowed to happen (and probably far more frequently than we’re even aware), I think two things. Either I don’t want to follow a God like that, or I don’t believe there is a God.

I wish I knew the answer. And I wish things like this were easy to understand. I just don’t see anyone having a good answer. And if anyone says “His ways are not our ways,” I’d have to ask, Do you want to follow a God who allows these kinds of atrocities as part of His way, ESPECIALLY since He’s supposed to have the knowledge and power to prevent or stop it?!?

Written by blogicalinks

December 13, 2006 at 12:01 am

Posted in Seeking, Venting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All great questions. I struggle with those, too. I guess it makes it easier because I expect an explanation (and somehow vindication for the victims!) someday.

    Lynn

    December 13, 2006 at 2:15 pm


Leave a Reply

