blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Happy Birthday, Mama!

leave a comment »

I can’t believe I almost forgot to wish my Mama a happy birthday via my blog (which she won’t read ’cause she doesn’t have Internet access…and doesn’t want it! 🙂

I won’t tell you her age, but she was born in 1932. 🙂

And the highest praise that I can offer her is that she lives out her faith more than anyone I’ve ever encountered. Her brother, mother, and father were all dead by time she was 12. She was raised by relatives in a very strict (read harsh) environment, and later took care of those relatives in their old age as good or better than their own children.

She suffered the death of my sister at age 15. She was less-than-thrilled about my being gay, but loves me just the same. Yet, through all of that and more that was less than she deserved, she loves Jesus and tries to live for Him, in Him, and through Him to everyone she knows… sometimes with words, but mostly with loving actions.

I could not have wished for a better role model and mother.

Written by blogicalinks

November 29, 2006 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Sharing

Leave a Reply

