blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

No News is Good News?

leave a comment »

This is just a short post about an odd place I find myself in. I suppose some of you might be at the same place.

Which is better? To watch the news and see stuff (that you can do absolutely nothing about most of the time) that breaks your heart, makes you sad and angry, and leaves you cynical and jaded? Or to not watch the news and just focus on the world around you, focusing on the people you actually meet and taking care of things you CAN do something about?

Because “good” news is rarely reported any more, and because the news we do get is in short sound bites of bad upon bad upon scary upon bloody upon crime upon abuse upon corruption ad nauseum, ad infinitum… sometimes, I get to feeling so badly, I start to wonder if there is any good in the world! I often have to stop and think Okay, for every story I hear about a child or animal being abused, there were many more that were not. For every crazy leader with a nuclear weapon, there are more who don’t have them. For every bad thing, there are more (or at least as many) good things that happened. And sometimes, “good” just means that nothing happened. For every wreck, many more people didn’t have one.

So I find myself seeing so much on TV that it actually changes my perception of the actual people and events I see around me. It’s almost like mind control, and that bothers me!! I’m letting CNN and MSNBC and Headline News become my filter for the way I see the world. I just don’t want that to be the case anymore.

However, here’s the flip side. Sometimes, there are things that I can do something about…like donating money or voting for (or against) a certain candidate or whatever. And if I was not watching the news, I might miss those opportunities to make a difference. Although, most of the time, we’re not presented with a way to change or affect what’s already happened or is happening. It’s hard to know where the compromise line is.

What I wish is that there was a news channel that changed their definition of “news.” (There is a station in B’ham whose tag line is “news you need to know.” That’s what I wish for!) Anything that involved a crime…off limits, unless it was like an abduction or escape, where citizens might actually help. Actually, they could even report “bad” news IF and only if there was some way for the average citizen to make a difference. Why do I need to know about a mother in Texas thought her baby was possessed, so she cut off the baby’s arms and let her bleed to death? What can I or anyone else possibly do about that?! The people could actually help her are the ones who are around her (or who would be contacted by authorities), and they will know about it without watching the news!

What am I supposed to do about the Soviets and Georgia (not my Georgia, of course), or about Venezuela or South Korea or Iran? What can I do? Not a bloomin’ thing…other than vote. And I’ve come to believe that even if I vote for a politician who tells me they’re gonna do this or that, they get into office and then go with whatever is most politically expedient anyway.

If there’s a humanitarian need in any of these places, I’d like to know about that, but the political stuff? What’s the point?!

All this to say that I need to focus on doing what I can do and where it wil do the most good. So if you see me next time and want to talk about current events, I might respond with “Huh?” 🙂

P.S. There is one pretty neat Web site called “Good News Network.” I’ve book marked it and read it every day. It helps with balance. 🙂

Philippians 4:6-8
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally,whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Written by blogicalinks

October 31, 2006 at 6:30 pm

Posted in Seeking

Leave a Reply

