blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Thoughts for upcoming posts

with 2 comments

Here are things that are currently on my mind:
• Is the inerrancy of scripture really necessary for 1) believing it, or 2) the actual truthfulness of its teachings?
• Are we do presume that every command/promise/etc Jesus addressed to His disciples or that Paul instructs to the church should apply to us today? Do the promises that God made to Israel as a nation actually apply to believers today? If I read a letter that my father wrote to my sister, promising her something or instructing her in something, should I believe the same always holds true for me as well?
• As much as I don’t want to believe in a literal, burning hell, it seems that Jesus alluded to it plenty. What do I do with that?
• Oh, there’s so much more. It makes my brain hurt just thinking about it all!

Written by blogicalinks

October 29, 2006 at 3:15 pm

Posted in Seeking

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl, If you would like some reflections concerning hell, you might want to read Brian McLaren’s “The Last Word, and the Word after That”. My thoughts on inerrancy, this is a modern category which tends to tell Scripture what it must be in order to be Scripture. This seems to get things backwards.

    Lewis

    Lewis

    November 7, 2006 at 1:12 pm


Leave a Reply

