blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Our Crib

leave a comment »

TownhouseIsn’t that what the hip, young people call the place they live? 🙂 Well, I just thought I’d share a bit about where I live…. what I like, and what I don’t.

I looked online for a floor plan for this townhouse, but since they’ve sold all the units already, I can’t find anything. I’ll just have to describe it. In the pic I’m including, we’re the one on the far right with one of the garage doors open. (You can see a larger image if you click on the photo.) On our one little street (a dead end), there are 29 units. Can you spell C-L-A-U-S-T-R-O-P-H-O-B-I-A?!

Basic facts:
• Three stories
• 3 bedrooms, 3.5 baths
• living room, dining room, kitchen, eating area
• 2 car garage
• Approx. 2100 sq ft (not including garage)

What I like most:
Middle Floor:

• It’s a very open floor plan. In fact, the only inside door on this level is the one to the half bath, and I guess that one’s necessary :). On this level is the kitchen, the formal dining room (which we use as a second sitting room), the eating area, the living room, and the deck.
• We have a large, gas log fireplace which is lightable by a “light” switch. (How cool is that?!) And it was already wired for a flat-panel TV to be installed above the fireplace, so naturally, we got one. (Of course, now I feel terrible about my materialistic tendencies.)
Lower Floor:
• This is where my office is. It’s a nice big room that could be used as a bedroom if needed, but the area was called a “flex room” in the plan. There’s a little bit of space right outside the back door underneath the deck and rest of the house which could have been used as a patio, but they put pinestraw there instead of concrete, which I don’t understand at all.
• Upper floor:
• Two bedrooms and the laundry area.
• The master bedroom is beautiful! It’s very large with an enormous bathroom and a deep walk-in closet. The floor of the bathroom is travertine marble, and it’s the prettiest part of the layout to me. The shower and jetted tub are separate. The dressing area has double vanities, and the toilet is in a small room by itself.
• Above the bed is a tray ceiling, which is really nice when you have a ceiling fan like we do. It doesn’t feel like the fan is pressing down on your head.
• My favorite part is the sunroom off the master bedroom. The only thing separating the bedroom and sunroom is a double-sided fireplace, and so it’s another very open floor plan, while the fireplace still gives it that sense of another space.

Both the east and west ends of the house have a lot of windows, so there’s lots of light, and on pleasant days, opening all the windows creates a very nice breeze throughout.

What I don’t like:
• There are a LOT of steps! Granted, walking up and down the steps gives me what little exercise I get, but a lot of time, it’s just aggravating. From the bottom floor to the middle is 17 steps, and from the middle to the top is 18 steps. And as you can see from the photo, from the outside, just getting to the front door is several steps up. The door comes in at split level, so it’s about eight more steps up from the front door to the middle floor. However, the cats really like the steps. When they race up and down them playing, I think they think they’re living in a big kitty condo! 🙂
• No yard! We have a very nicely landscaped area around us, but none of it is “ours,” and none of it is private, and there’s really not much of it, period.
• Too close to I-285. We are about 1.5 blocks off the interstate, and I can hear the roar of traffic anytime the TV is not on. It’s not nearly as bad on the back side (east) of the house where we watch TV and where I work, but it’s still noticeable. I can tune it out sometimes, but other times, it seems like it’s all I can hear!
• There are NO closet/pantries for linens! I can only figure that a man came up with the plan for this place.

So anyway, that’s what I was thinking about today. Obviously, nothing interesting going on in my noggin’ today. I think I’ve overdosed on SEC football already, and the next game hasn’t even started yet!

Written by blogicalinks

October 28, 2006 at 6:21 pm

Posted in Whatever

Leave a Reply

