blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

I Fought the Law…

leave a comment »

This is a short post to clarify some of the things I’ve been writing about. When I ponder questions like “Should we use insurance?” or “Should we pray a certain way?” or whatever, I’m not meaning to imply an imposition of that behavior on any one else. Putting “shoulds” and “shouldn’ts” on another person just puts us back under the law and diminishes the grace and freedom to be found in following Jesus.

I do believe there are commands of Jesus that are not negotiable, but how best to accomplish those commandments and how best to be obedient is up to the conscience of the individual. As Paul says in I Corinthians, all things are permissible, but not all things are beneficial. I’m not trying to be anyone’s holy spirit. I’m just floating issues that I wrestle with out there to get people thinking and talking, and to let my friends know where I am in the struggle. If something I’ve said that you disagree with, please, let me know. Maybe I can learn something from your insight that I had not considered.

Anyway, I just wanted to make it clear that I’m not implying that “I’ve arrived and I have all understanding” on these matters, and now you too should think/act on these things in the same way. These are just my ponderings about my understanding.

Written by blogicalinks

October 26, 2006 at 10:06 am

Posted in Seeking, Sharing

Leave a Reply

