blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Using Common Sense

leave a comment »

HA! Gotcha! This post is not a rant on how anyone should be using better common sense. (Although I’m sure I could write plenty about that, I’m afraid most of it would be directed toward me! 🙂 It’s about taking time to consider the things around us and enjoy common things using our senses.

Today, I’m not talking about my “favorites” smell, taste, etc. I’m talking about things I’ve experienced very recently.

Smell: Sherrie started making chili early yesterday morning, it stewed all day long. I went out to get the mail in the afternoon, and when I walked back into the house, the wonderful aroma of the chili washed over me. It brought with it memories of crisp evenings wrapped in blankets, friends filling their bowls as we sat down to watch football games, eating leftovers that are as good (or better) than the original meal. Is there much better than a good smell associated with warm memories?

Taste: Well, the chili mentioned above was right up there with recent enjoyable tastes, but I’d have to say it was actually last weekend. I got a wild hair and drove to Marietta to buy a dozen Krisy Kreme donuts. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten all the way home with all twelve still in the box! It’s hard to beat a warm, freshly-made KK donut. Anyway, they were great that day, but the next day—a Sunday morning—fresh coffee was brewing, I warmed up a donut, and enjoyed an exquisitely slow waking up to the day.

Sight: Fall is my favorite time of year, so I’m surrounded by the beauty of the changing leaves. What I’m most captivated by are the colors of leaves in the red/orange spectrum. (The purples, greens, yellows are all beautiful, and adding them in certainly creates an amazing palette of colors, but I’m drawn to the reds and oranges.) And when I’m out walking on the Silver Comet Trail, leaves have started to blanket the trail with an array of leaves—different colors, shapes, sizes—and they simply dazzle me with their fragile, fleeting beauty.

Sound: Again, it’s about the fall leaves. About a month ago, when the first chill was in the air, Sherrie and I were out walking. A strong gust of wind rustled through the trees around us, and before I really thought about what I was saying, I remarked “It sounds like fall.” I don’t think I’d ever really thought of the coming of fall as a sound you could identify, but the more I thought of it, it’s true. I’m presuming my reasoning below is what allows me to “hear” it. It makes sense to me, anyway. 🙂

When it’s spring or summer and leaves are at their most supple and flexible, they have a “hearty” sound as the wind moves through them, knocking them against one another and flapping against themselves. However, as fall begins to approach, the leaves start to lose their moisture and become brittle. After they’ve started to die, but before they leave the tree, the leaves produce more of a “clicking” sound, and that, to me, is the sound of fall. It’s subtle, but it’s there if you listen.

Touch: A few days ago, I received in the mail a pen from a company who imprints them. They were offering a special if I advertised my business on their pens. Pens are one of the few things I’m extremely picky about. Ever since I was a kid, I’d had very small parameters for what I consider a “good pen.” Factors include: a good flow of ink…no blobbing allowed; quick drying…I hate moving my hand across a line of ink that hasn’t dried by time I finish the line below it; not having to bear down to get enough opacity; the balance of the pen in my hand; the diameter of the pen, etc. I could go on and on, but as you can see, I am picky.

So anyway, I received this cheap pen and started to just chunk it, but I thought, I’ll at least write my name with it. And lo and behold, it met every requirement I have for a good pen! I don’t know if it’s an anomaly, and if I ordered a gross of these pens, I might be sorely disappointed, but at least for now, I have the one good pen in my hand, and that’s a nice feeling.

Spiritual: Well, it’s all over the board with me right now. Every day (and every moment, if I stop to pay attention), I’m learning more, understanding more, and most importantly, being compelled to do more.

So what common sense have you appreciated lately?

Written by blogicalinks

October 22, 2006 at 12:08 pm

Posted in Sharing

Leave a Reply

