blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Welcome to 2010

with 2 comments

Happy New Year, everyone!

New Year’s Eve/Day is my favorite holiday. I like the fact that it comes after the somewhat stress-inducing Christmas holidays. For me, it’s usually spent with friends. The air is crisp, ballgames are a-plenty, and it’s a time for introspection, reflection, celebration, and resolution.

Part of me was thinking one of my resolutions would be to blog something every day, but even I know that it’s not very likely that that will happen. :)

I found a neat site earlier this year called “MindTools.com” and on it, it listed some questions that helped me focus my thinking on my goals. I also read another article yesterday about how to make sure you set goals that are not overwhelming, making sure you frame your goals positively, etc.

So with those things in mind, I’m actually making my goals public. Here they are for the world to see. If I don’t mention a specific time frame, it just means that I want to accomplish the goal by the end of the year.

Artistic:
Do you want to achieve any artistic goals? If so, what?
- I want to either take a pottery class, or create at least one sculpey figurine.
- I will take at least one “good” photo a week.

Attitude:
Is any part of your mindset holding you back? Is there any part of the way that you behave that upsets you? If so, set a goal to improve your behavior or find a solution to the problem.
I have to stop procrastinating when I have things I NEED to do, but don’t want to do.

Career:
What level do you want to reach in your career?
I don’t really have anywhere I can advance where I’m currently employed, and I don’t want to leave either, so I guess I will just keep doing the best job I can where I am.

Education:
Is there any knowledge you want to acquire in particular? What information and skills will you need to achieve other goals?
I want to get a masters in marketing, but I don’t know if I can afford to start this year.
After I take a look at my finances later this year, I might be able to take at least one class.

Financial:
How much do you want to earn by what stage?
Regular job:
I need to save as much as possible. My new budget will help me in that regard. I will increase my contribution to money market by $100 per month by the end of the first quarter.

Freelance: I am going to update my Web site and actively seek new work. I will have updated my site by the end of January, and I will have a marketing plan in place by the end of February. Would like to make at least $7,500 a year on freelance.

Physical:

Are there any athletic goals you want to achieve, or do you want good health deep into old age? What steps are you going to take to achieve this?
- I will lose two pounds by the end of January
.
- I will eat less fast food…
no more than three total meals a week.
- I will drink at least one cup of water a day for one month, increasing as I get used to it. As I increase water consumption, I will decrease other sugar drinks.
- I will do at least thirty minutes of something physical at least twice a week for the first quarter of the year.

Pleasure:
How do you want to enjoy yourself? – You should ensure that some of your life is for you!
By the end of the year:

  • Coke Museum
  • Fernbank Museum
  • Atlanta Zoo
  • CNN Center
  • Stone Mountain
  • Go to the lake as much as possible
  • Take one real vacation

Public Service:
Do you want to make the world a better place? If so, how?
I will volunteer to recycle aluminum cans at work.

I think these things are doable and good for me. How about you? What are your goals for the new year?

Written by blogicalinks

January 2, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Posted in Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl I just used yours to post my resolutions even though I usually don’t make them

    Artistic:
    I’ve signed up for a digital photography class at Emory continuing education. If I have the money I’ll take more classes and get a certification.

    Attitude:
    My attitude needs an overhaul. But I’ve known that for a while. I read many books to help my mind set. I have felt bitterness and sadness since my mother passed away. It almost feels like yeah maybe miracles happen, but they don’t happen to me. I’m trying to stay close to church and my other spiritual mentors.

    Career:
    I just want a job.

    Interest:
    I am going to volunteer more this year. I’ve chosen a wide variety of activities through Hands on Atlanta.

    Financial:
    I don’t know but Karen has it all figured out with spreadsheet

    Physical:
    I hope to get back to some of the physical activities that I enjoy like hiking and biking.

    Pleasure:
    I plan on hanging out with my friends because they alway put me in a good mood.

    Donna

    January 4, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  2. Artistic:
    Do you want to achieve any artistic goals? If so, what?
    - I intend to draw a few things this year – other than something I do for work.

    Attitude:
    Is any part of your mindset holding you back? Is there any part of the way that you behave that upsets you? If so, set a goal to improve your behavior or find a solution to the problem.
    -I’d love to stop procrastinating and find a better way to focus although I’m not sure how I intend to achieve that. I guess I’ll think about it later. ;)

    Career:
    What level do you want to reach in your career?
    -I’d just like to reach the level I was before the recession!

    Education:
    Is there any knowledge you want to acquire in particular? What information and skills will you need to achieve other goals?
    -I want to learn a little more php, actionscript and css.

    Financial:
    How much do you want to earn by what stage?
    -I could be happy with $100,000 right now. :)

    Physical:
    Are there any athletic goals you want to achieve, or do you want good health deep into old age? What steps are you going to take to achieve this?
    - I appear to have completely lost my cardiac fitness so this needs remedied quickly.
    - I need to eat a little bit better. Maybe…

    Pleasure:
    How do you want to enjoy yourself? – You should ensure that some of your life is for you!
    Read more books
    Blog family outings
    I’m pretty content with what I’m doing. :)

    Public Service:
    Do you want to make the world a better place? If so, how?
    -Atlanta Boxer Rescue!

    Dianne

    January 20, 2010 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

