blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

It’s an Il-LU-sion!

with 2 comments

illusionI started off thinking that I was going to blog about color and light, and how, without light, there is no true “color.” But the more I thought about it and read about it, the more my stream of consciousness took me into some murky backwaters. The thought of trying to explain what I was thinking, and the implications of it all was almost existential. For goodness sake! I don’t want to write that heavy stuff on a Thursday night when the Golden Girls are on, and I’m SURE you don’t want to read it! :)

But while I was reading about color theory, I came across a couple of neat optical illusions (and thus the throwback to the creepy Doug “It’s an Il-LU-sion”  Henning from the 70s).

orange

The orange circles are exactly the same color orange. Our perception of their hue is affected by their surroundings.

The first illusion is pretty straightforward and simple, but interesting nonetheless. See the caption for what makes it interesting.

The second one is really cool. I will explain it here, rather than in the caption.

(Well, the animation would not work when I published this. You can go here to see the effect, but you can read what to expect below. Sorry about that!)

There are twelve purple dots, and a every 1/10 of a second or so, a purple dot is replaced with a lilac dot in sequence clockwise around the circle.

If you stare at the cross in the middle of the circle for about 20 seconds, your peripheral vision will see this:

First, the lilac dot will become a gap, moving around the circle.
Then, the gap will appear as a green dot. (This happened quickly for me. I didn’t see the gap but for a second.)
Finally, the dots will disappear as if it’s “Pac Man” eating them up!

How cool is that!

Written by blogicalinks

August 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

Posted in Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really cool. I wish you had seen the show that I “think” I saw (or was it a dream) early one a.m. about the illusionist trying to recreate the miracles of Jesus. It also contained a lot of historical references and the comparisons of Jesus’ reported miracles to those of Joshua and others in the old testament. I must have seen this. I am not smart enough to have made it up nor is my memory good enough to have remembered it from a dream!

    Wally Traylor

    August 27, 2009 at 11:27 pm

  2. It turned green but nothing ever disappeared or gave me a gap. :(

    Dianne

    August 28, 2009 at 11:55 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

