blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Somewhere in Nashville

with 4 comments

I sat here for a while, trying to think of something to write about tonight… something profound and moving. However, I believe my brain is running on empty after a day of thinking hard at work. (If only there was a way to turning thinking and problem solving into some sort of caloric activity!)

stairsAnyway, I couldn’t come up with anything, so I’m just sharing a couple of photos I really like, one in an Escher sort of way. These were taken a couple of years ago when I was visiting Nashville with Jane. We went to Union Station, a beautiful building that used to be a train station, now a hotel. I so much admire any architectural element that pays real attention to detail, from the stained glass to the sculpture to the carving in the wood. Granted, sometimes, the details are not seen, not really taken in, and one may wonder… why the effort? But when you look at a place like this, you realize that the details, seen and unseen, work together to make up the whole, and the effect is awe-inspiring. I feel the same way about the Biltmore House in Asheville, NC.

What man-made structure inspires you? unionstation

Written by blogicalinks

August 26, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve stayed there before!

    A: My church
    B: Taleisin West – Frank Lloyd Wright’s home in AZ

    Laura

    August 27, 2009 at 1:54 am

  2. Very cool!

    Dianne

    August 27, 2009 at 8:33 am

  3. I am partial to the Golden Gate Bridge, simply for it’s beauty and style. It doesn’t hurt that I had a great-uncle that was an iron worker on the bridge, too.
    I had never given much credence to the Statue of Liberty until I finally visited it last year. And now that I’m finding out so many of my ancestors came through Ellis Island and the port of New York, it has more and more meaning to me

    Eric

    August 27, 2009 at 9:37 am

  4. I have to say that St. Peter’s Basilica was truly amazing. I was absolutely awe struck when I entered. Unfortunately, the Sistine Chapel was closed when I was there.

    It seems that the great structures of Europe still somehow overshadow ours here in the US…Notre Dam de Paris…le tour effiel…the Duomo…I guess mainly because they were constructed so long ago and have lasted so long . . .but I also love the Kimpton Hotels…you know I am a ho for 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets…

    Just like me…go from talking about architecture to sheets…oh look! A chicken!

    Wally Traylor

    August 27, 2009 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

